Durbridge snatches 20th on the first Tour de France time trial stage

Former Australian time trial champion Luke Durbridge took 20th place for Team BikeExchange on today’s 22.7km individual time trial for the fifth day of the Tour de France.

As an early starter, the Australian completed the distance with a time of 33 minutes and 42 seconds and sat in second place for most of the day, before the hot favourites came through in the final, with Tadej Pogacar taking the stage honors.

The general classification battle shook up slightly but with Mathieu van der Poel still able to retain his overall lead by just eight seconds, ahead of a couple of flatter days before the mountains arrive.

Luke Durbridge 
“It was a really nice TT in terms of the crowd being out in force and I haven’t done a Tour de France time trial for a while. I am happy with my ride, I stuck to my plan and didn’t really worry about my splits, you can’t really worry about things, it’s just who is fastest from A to B. 

Top-20 in a Tour de France TT is always a decent result. I am a TT rider so of course I would love to go into the top-10, but the performance today is a good showing of my condition.

Today was all about managing your effort at the start, if you go too hard on the first two climbs then it’s your day done. There’s still a long time before the last climb and long stretches. 20th place is not something to celebrate but it is not a bad result and now we go into tomorrow with some more chances with Matthews.”

Matt White – Head Sport Director
“It was a solid ride from Durbridge with 20th and I think with the GC, that really starts to kick off on day eight. Today wasn’t a day for us, we knew we wouldn’t really be moving up overall so it was more about limiting our losses as we wait for the high mountains.”

2021 Tour de France – Stage 5 ITT results:
1. Tadej Pogacar 32:00
2. Stefan Kung +0:19
3. Jonas Vingegaard +0:27
20. Luke Durbridge (Team BikeExchange) +1:42

General Classification result after stage 5 ITT:
1. Mathieu van der Poel 16:51:41
2. Tadej Pogacar +0:08
3. Wout van Aert +0:30
22. Esteban Chaves (Team BikeExchange) +3:24

Photo courtesy of ASO/Charley Lopez