Schultz makes the break to take his best Grand Tour stage placing with a solid seventh

Team BikeExchange got straight back into racing action at La Vuelta a España following on from yesterday’s first rest day, with Australians Nick Schultz and Damien Howson making it into the day’s breakaway.

It took a long time once again for the elastic to snap, but once it did, the peloton allowed a large group of 31 riders away. The group established a large gap of over 13 minutes before all the action came down to the final climbs topping out with 17km to go.

Schultz showed his climbing strength making it into a selection over the top of the climb but after one rider Storer had attacked away, it became a hard chase down the descent. The Team BikeExchange rider took caution on the slippery, twisty roads and found himself in the third small group of the road once they entered the flat section, before sprinting to his highest Grand Tour stage finish with a respectable seventh place.

Nick Schultz
“It was really tough out there it took a long time for the breakaway to go again, myself and Damien were fighting a lot at the start to have some representation and try to get Matthews up there as well bit it didn’t really eventuate and then Damien and I, we find ourselves in a pretty big group with some really good riders and we were always going to be up against it.

We did our best and it was also another really hot day, so we had to try and manage that. On the final climb I just tried to pace it, ride my own pace and I went over there in a small group behind Storer but the decent was super slippery and we were going down one-by-one. I found myself in a group a little further back after the decent.

I am pretty happy but also disappointed as it is not very often when you get into position to get to fight for a stage at a Grand Tour with the bunch letting a big group like that to go away. I am happy but it also a missed opportunity, but we will keep fighting until the end.”

2021 La Vuelta – Stage 10 results:
1. Michael Storer 4:09:21
2. Mauri Vansevenant
3. Clement Champoussin
7. Nick Schultz (Team BikeExchange)