Matthews and Team BikeExchange-Jayco set sights on stage wins at the Tour de Suisse

Michael Matthews returns to stage racing action as Team BikeExchange-Jayco go on the hunt for stage wins at the Tour de Suisse.

The Australian will be joined by countryman Damien Howson, who lines-up fresh off the Giro d’Italia, while New Zealander Dion Smith will be key support for Matthews in the fast finishes alongside the experienced Cameron Meyer.

Climbers Tanel Kangert and Jan Maas round out the seven rider roster for the eight-day stage race.

The 2022 edition of the race features a number of rolling stages, followed by two tests in the high mountains before the race will be decided in a virtually flat individual time trial in Vaduz.

Team BikeExchange-Jayco Line-Up:
Jack Bauer (NZL)
Damien Howson (AUS)
Tanel Kangert (EST)
Jan Maas (NED)
Michael Matthews (AUS)
Cameron Meyer (AUS)
Dion Smith (NZL)

Michael Matthews:
“I’m looking forward for the Tour de Suisse, it’s always a race that I really enjoyed doing. It’s a race suited to my characteristics with a lot of climbing along the way and normally a reduced bunch in the finale.

I’ve done some good preparation and I think there are a quite few stages for me and also, it’s a good opportunity to continue building my condition for the Tour de France. We are bringing a good team to Switzerland and we’re aiming for some good results.”

Mathew Hayman – Sport Director
“As always, the Tour de Suisse presents us with a very challenging course. We feel that we are up to the challenge with Michael Matthews aiming for a stage win. Damien Howson is a late call up to this race after finishing the Giro with good condition and he will be great support for Michael and can go a long way in the pure mountain stages.

With many riders and teams preparing for the Tour de France, or having just finished the Giro, the level of competition in this race is always very high. We are looking forward to it.”

2022 Tour de Suisse – Stages Details:
Sunday, 12th June, Stage 1: Küsnacht – Küsnacht, 177km
Monday, 13th June, Stage 2: Küsnacht – Aesch, 176km
Tuesday, 14th June, Stage 3: Aaesch – Grenchen, 176km
Wednesday,15th June, Stage 4: Grenchen – Brunnen, 190km

Thursday, 16th June, Stage 5: Ambri – Novazzano, 190km

Friday, 17th June, Stage 6: Locarno-Moosalp, 177km

Saturday, 18th June, Stage 7: Ambri – Malbun, 194km

Sunday, 19th June, Stage 8: Vaduz-Vaduz, 25.6km (ITT)

Photo: Getty Sport