🇦🇺 2023 Australian Summer of Racing Returns!

Team Jayco AlUla is pleased to confirm its return to Australia for the busy summer of racing which started on January 1st, 2023, at the annual Citroën Bay Crits in Geelong.  Ruby Roseman-Gannon got the ball rolling early by claiming her second consecutive overall win at the three-day event.
The focus now moves on to the next races, as the squad brings impressive men’s and women’s team line-ups, ready to challenge for more victories in front of Australian fans at the Federation University Australian Championships, Santos Tour Down Under and Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race.

Michael Matthews:
“This year I decided to head back to Australia and get the season started there, it has been a long time since I’ve raced the Australian Summer, so I am just really excited for it. It is of course important racing for us as an Australian team, so to be returning with the team line-up that we have, which is super strong, it is going to be really fun. 
We have a big block starting with the Australian championships and after a few years where TDU and CEGORR couldn’t be on or at WorldTour level, we are so grateful the racing has returned to the highest level and have the opportunity to race in front of our passionate home fans.

I am expecting everyone to be in really good shape for the TDU, a lot of our riders want to return to their home country and really show what they have got, everyone is going to bring their A game.”

After a two-year absence due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the peloton will see Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race and the Santos Tour Down Under returning to UCI WorldTour status and for the first time in history, the women’s event elevated to UCI Women’s WorldTour level. 
With this, the motivation is higher than ever within the well-rounded women’s team, which will include three new Australian faces – Georgie Howe, Amber Pate and Alyssa Polites. For the Santos Tour Down Under, the team will head to Adelaide looking to try and clinch the overall title for the fifth time, following on from the squad’s overall wins from 2016 through to 2019, inclusive.

Alex Manly:
“I am super excited to race the Santos Tour Down Under this year and for me personally, it is really special as the race is in my hometown of Adelaide. I have been a part of the event over the years and have witnessed its growth. So to see it now elevated to UCI WorldTour level for 2023 it is really something special.
As a team we have won the overall title four times and last year when the event was named the ‘Santos Festival of Cycling’ as a domestic event, we helped Ruby to take the overall title, a stage win and also Georgia won the criterium, so we return with so much motivation to try and keep winning in Adelaide.
It is really nice lining-up with an all-Australian team, as this is the event where we have been exposed to the best cyclists in the world. It’s ignited the professional dream in many riders. We’ve got three new Aussie talents joining the team, all great assets in their own right. It will be a great place for us to start building some confidence and growing together.

We know it is going to be an extremely high level of racing and a very challenging course, but we know what to expect and we are coming in very well prepared. Hopefully the home advantage will help.”

After dazzling the local home fans at the Road World Championships in September where he picked up two medals,Matthews will headline the men’s line-up throughout the Australian summer of racing alongside 2018 Vuelta a España champion, Briton Simon Yates.
The remainder of the men’s squad will be built from Australian riders all looking to start the 2023 season off with a bang on home soil, and like the women’s team, the men’s squad will welcome a trio of Australian riders, with Chris Harper, Blake Quick and Rudy Porter all making their debut for Team Jayco AlUla.

Federation University Australian Championships:
January 6th Criterium/ 8th Road Race/ 10th Time Trial
Alex Manly (CR, RR)
Alyssa Polites (CR, RR)
Amber Pate (CR, RR, TT)
Georgia Baker (RR, TT)
Georgia Howe (CR, RR, TT)
Jess Allen (CR, RR)
Ruby Roseman-Gannon (CR, RR, TT)

Luke Durbridge (RR, TT)
Lucas Hamilton (CR, RR)
Chris Harper (RR, TT)
Michael Hepburn (CR, RR)
Michael Matthews (RR)
Blake Quick (CR, RR)
Kelland O’Brien (CR, RR, TT)
Rudy Porter (CR, RR)
Callum Scotson (CR, RR, TT)

Santos Tour Down Under – Women (15th to 17th Jan)
Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race – Women (28th Jan)

Alex Manly 
Amber Pate 
Alyssa Polites (Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race only)
Georgia Baker (Santos Tour Down Under only)
Georgie Howe 
Jess Allen 
Ruby Roseman-Gannon 

Santos Tour Down Under – Men (17th – 22nd Jan)
Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race – Men (28th Jan)

Luke Durbridge
Lucas Hamilton 
Chris Harper
Michael Hepburn (Santos Tour Down Under only)
Kelland O’Brien (Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race only)
Campbell Stewart
Michael Matthews
Simon Yates