2017 UCI Road World Championships - Wrap

Mon 25 Sep 2017

The UCI Road World Championships have wrapped up for another year with ORICA-SCOTT riders – all from the women’s team - claiming a gold, silver and bronze medal as well as three other top ten performances.

We wrap up the last week of action from Bergen Norway:

Team Time Trial – Men

Six of ORICA-SCOTT’s biggest powerhouses lined up in the team time trial as the first event of the championships, hoping to conquer the toughest course in the event’s history. 

The team, who had only missed out on a podium once since the event’s inception, was up against some toughest competition with additional outfits putting considerable focus on the event than the traditional Quickstep Floors and BMC Racing Team. 

The brutal course, which featured a climb that saw a lot of teams fall apart, and an off day for a couple of riders saw ORICA-SCOTT drop off the pace and out of contention by the second intermediate split but they battled on to finish an eventual fifth place, 43seconds off the gold medal. 

Team Sunweb spoiled the party for many for the world championship and gold medal with BMC Racing Team settling for second with Team Sky, who many had identified as the favourites, rounding out the podium.


Individual Time Trial – Women

ORICA-SCOTT claimed two medals in the women’s time trial after Dutch champion Annemiek van Vleuten claimed the gold medal with an impressive ride and Katrin Garfoot won her second consecutive bronze medal in the event.

Van Vleuten’s performance secured the coveted rainbow jersey for ORICA-SCOTT for the first time in history, after last week’s confirmation that the 34-year-old has re-signed with the team for the next two years. 

Van Vleuten won the event by 12seconds to compatriot Anna van der Breggen with Garfoot (Australia) in third at 19seconds to give ORICA-SCOTT two riders on the podium.


Road Race - Women 

Wherever you looked in the women’s road race at the world championships, you would see an ORICA-SCOTT rider as part of the action.

First, Rachel Neylan rode herself into the first major breakaway of the day to allow her fellow Australian teammates to rest back in the bunch.

Once she was caught, Gracie Elvin showed her cards and moved into the counter attack before Amanda Spratt was involved in the subsequent move.

As an elite group threatened on the penultimate ascent of Salmon Hill, Spratt was joined by Annemiek van Vleuten and Katrin Garfoot in an elite group at the front but with little cohesion a regrouping occurred on the descent. 

As another trio rode to get off the front, it was another ORICA-SCOTT rider in Sarah Roy who tried her best to bridge across to the leaders. Whilst she never made it, it still took the pressure off her teammates behind to work.

As the final and decisive attacks came on the final lap, van Vleuten and Garfoot were right amongst the action.

As Dutch teammate Chantal Blaak escaped off the front, van Vleuten’s job was done as the other teams were reluctant to chase in fear of the counter. 

Blaak went on to win the race and, despite a regrouping behind, Garfoot sprinted to an impressive second place – her second medal of the championships.


Road Race - Men

ORICA-SCOTT lined up in the men’s road race with 11 riders representing seven nations.

As the men rolled away, it was left to those brave enough to form the first breakaway. Nine riders complied, but all of ORICA-SCOTT’s riders remained in the pack. 

Mathew Hayman (Australia) had his day cut short when he crashed amongst the cars after a nature break, leaving ten remaining ORICA-SCOTT riders in the bunch.

Roman Kreuziger’s Czech Republich teammates were seen at the front of the bunch all day controlling the breakaway which at its maximum rode out to a ten-minute advantage. 

Jen Keukeleire’s Belgium team also contributed to the chase that saw the breakaway’s day finish with 80km still to race. 

Jack Haig, riding for Australia, made the next move with seven others for company. With 60km to go they had a slender 34second advantage but they survived for some time before being caught with 25km to go.

Whilst two leaders distanced the others over the final climb of Salmon Hill, Magnus Cort (Denmark) and Michael Albasini (Switzerland) were still present in the dramatically reduced chase group. 

The race regrouped in the final five kilometres, before Cort launched an early move and led into the final kilometre before being swept up in the sprint.

Peter Sagan (Slovakia) claimed his third consecutive title, with Alexander Kristoff (Norway) and Michael Matthews (Australia) wrapping up the podium.

Albasini was ORICA-SCOTT’s top finisher in seventh place.

Photo courtesy of TDWsport.