Another top ten for Trentin on another sprint stage at the Tour of Guangxi

Wed 17 Oct 2018

European champion Matteo Trentin sprinted into the top ten once again on today’s second stage of the Tour of Guangxi, claiming seventh place on a rainy, tough day in China.

Another battle unfolded between the sprinters with Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) taking the stage honours. Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo) remains as the race leader with Trentin in 11th on GC.

Rapid start

The second stage started with a furious pace with many riders trying to make it into the day’s first breakaway and it took around 20km for the elastic to finally snap. Two riders jumped ahead before another three bridged across and the five riders were able to open up a gap of over two minutes on the predominately flat stage.

Waiting for a sprint

Like yesterday, Mitchelton-SCOTT remained relaxed in the peloton with the breakaway hovering ahead until the final 40km or so when the pace picked with sprinters teams trying to draw back in the escapees.

Out in front the breakaway lost one rider and began to shatter and two riders Alex Dowsett (Movistar) and Remi Cavagna (Quick-Step Floors) jumped ahead trying to take their chances. Cavagna went on to lead solo into the final 10km but he was also swallowed up with four kilometres to go as the sprint started to open up.

Mitchelton-SCOTT worked to position Trentin and lead-out him out for the sprint but on the fast open roads, Ackermann proved to be quicker.

Matteo Trentin

“It was a good wet day today, it was raining really a lot. In the sprint I got a really good lead-out from the team but I got passed by the other guy.

"I am feeling good but I think in this kind of super fast easy stages some guys are just quicker than me. Still four more stages to go.”

Tour of Guangxi stage 2 result:
1. Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) 
2. Fabio Jakobsen (Quick-Step Floors)
3. Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNl-Jumbo)
7. Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-SCOTT)

General classification after stage 2:
1. Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNl-Jumbo) 5:40
2. Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) +0:04
3. Fabio Jakobsen (Quick-Step Floors) +0:04
11. Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +0:14

Photos courtesy of Getty Images