Cort sprints to sixth to wrap up the 2017 La Vuelta

Sun 10 Sep 2017

Last year’s final stage winner Magnus Cort has sprinted to sixth place in Madrid to cap off La Vuelta this evening. 

Looking to repeat their feats of last year, ORICA-SCOTT supported the Dane in the bunch sprint but the 24-year-old wasn’t able to match 2018 recruit Matteo Trentin (Quicksep Floors) who won his fourth stage of the Tour. 

“Today was a continuation of the team spirit this Vuelta of attacking and going for everything,” sport director Neil Stephens said. “We wanted to walk away from La Vuelta knowing we have given it our best – win, lose or draw.” 

“The boys worked well and Sam Bewley was with Magnus into the final corner. Magnus was doing well, he never would have won the stage, but he got a bit of a hook at the finish and finished outside the top five.” 

ORICA-SCOTT walk away from La Vuelta without a victory, with Stephens admitting the team needed to be transparent about its campaign this year. 

“We came here with three potential general classification leaders and some pretty high expectations and we have to be realistic, we haven’t fulfilled them,” he said.

“When you look at our success here at the Tour of Spain over the past two years, as an ‘average’ we can be happy, but this year it wasn’t to be.

“We definitely can’t question the boy’s work ethic or commitment, we tried early for GC and lost some time being aggressive and since then have been in breakaways trying to get a stage win. It hasn’t been through a lack of effort.” 

How it happened: 

The peloton rolled out Arroyomolinos for the traditional ceremonious parade of the final stage of La Vuelta with Chris Froome in the red leader’s jersey and with a celebratory drink for the retiring Alberto Contador (Trek Segafredo). 

Racing began as the bunch entered the finishing circuit in Madrid with eight laps to complete. 

Three riders tried their luck at a breakaway but a determined Quickstep Floors kept the race under control and a bunch sprint never looked threatened. 

Their efforts were rewarded as Trentin took their sixth stage win as Cort settled for sixth.

La Vuelta – Stage 21: 

1. Matteo Trentin (Quickstep Floors) 3:06:25
2. Lorrenzo Manzin (FDJ) ST
3. Soren Andersen (Team Sunweb) ST
6. Magnus Cort (ORICA-SCOTT) ST

La Vuelta – Final General Classification:

1. Chris Froome (Team Sky) 82:30:02
2. Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) +2:15
3. Ilnur Zakarin (Team Katusha Alpecin) +2:51
11. Esteban Chaves (ORICA-SCOTT) +16:46

Photo courtesy of TDWsport.