D’hoore in the mix with top ten on stage four of the Women’s Tour

Sat 16 Jun 2018

Belgian national champion and stage one winner Jolien D’hoore was up there again in the sprint on the fourth stage of the OVO Energy Women’s Tour today, finishing in eighth place for Mitchelton-SCOTT.

A windy stage was characterised with numerous attacks over the opening kilometres before three riders went clear to form a breakaway that managed to hold off the chasing peloton until the final five kilometres before the catch was made and a hectic sprint finale followed.

Amalie Dideriksen (Boels-Dolmans) proved to be the quickest on the day managing to get the jump to take the stage victory with D’hoore slightly boxed in and crossing the line in the top ten.

Decisive moments:

It was an action-packed start to the stage with plenty of attacks, a crash, splits and a regrouping over the first 50kilometres before a trio of riders started to develop a lead on the peloton to form the days breakaway.

D’hoore was involved in the crash and despite going down the Belgian champion got back up, changed bikes twice and pressed on.

Gaining over two minutes on the bunch by the halfway point the three leaders started to lose time as strong crosswinds blew across the road, splitting the peloton behind and coinciding with an increase in the speed of the pursuit.

Determined not to be caught the trio continued to rotate their efforts and remarkably maintained their advantage over the climbs and on to the flat roads towards the finish, but with 15kilometres to go it was less than a minute and they were caught the kilometres later.

Fresh attacks came immediately, but the bunch stayed together for another sprint finish with Dideriksen taking the win and D’hoore in eighth.

Jolien D’hoore:

“It was a bit of an unlucky day for me, I crashed right after the start and had to change bikes twice, but the girls kept everything under control at the front of the bunch and did a great job.

“The final was really hectic again and the team was amazing with another outstanding lead out, but we stuffed it up going into the last corner. We left it a bit too late and got boxed in. I couldn’t do the sprint that I wanted, but it’s good to see the team going so strong.”

OVO Energy Women’s Tour stage four results:

1. Amalie Dideriksen (Boels-Dolmans) 03:31:19

2. Lotta Lepisto (Cervelo-Bigla) ST

3. Marianne Vos (WaowDeals-Pro-Cycling) ST

8. Jolien D’hoore (Mitchelton-SCOTT) ST

General classification after stage four:

1. Coryn Rivera (Team-Sunweb) 11:17:27

2. Marianne Vos (WaowDeals-Pro-Cycling) +0:16

3. Danielle Rowe (WaowDeals-Pro-Cycling) +0:20

16. Sarah Roy (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +0:36


Photos courtesy of Getty Images.