Daryl Impey defends his national time trial title for the fifth time

Thu 11 Feb 2016

South African Daryl Impey has successfully defended his national time trial title today in Wartburg, making it his fifth victory in event. 

Over the last six years, Impey has claimed the national honours in every edition of the race he has started (2011, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016).

Coming into the event as the clear favourite, Impey lived up to his expectations finishing the 48km route in 1hour 1minute and 23 seconds, giving him a 44 second advantage over second place Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (Team Dimension Data).

"I'm pretty happy that each time I've started the elite champs I've been able to win," said Impey. "There's always pressure coming here, beacuse I've always been the favourite, so it's a relief to come back here and back it up."

After winning the four previous national time trial titles Impey entered the race with high ambitions, confident of his form after strong performances in last month's Santos Tour Down Under.

"I've worked really hard in December and January coming off Tour Down Under," said Impey. "After the crash I had, I needed a few extra days to take it easier and I freshened up nicely in to this."

"I had a pretty tough fight out there from Reinardt, so I was just really happy to finish it off today and deliver when it mattered."

Being back in South Africa able to race in his home counrty, Impey was grateful to have support around him and thanked people with taking the victory.

"It was great to have Miha (Peterlid) and Dean Edwards in the car following me, it kind of motivated me even more. They put a lot of effort in behind the scenes so it's nice to have support from the team and Dean. I am really pleased to be able to win on South African soil."

The South African National Road Race Championships takes place on Sunday 14th February, when Impey will be back in action aiming to bring the national road jersey to ORICA-GreenEDGE.

South Africa National Time Trial Results:


1. Daryl Impey (OGE) 1:01:23

2. Reinardt J V Rensburg (TDD) +0:44

3. Johan Van Zyl (TDD) +2:48