Durbridge powers to seventh place and up to seventh overall on day two in BinckBank Tour

Tue 14 Aug 2018

Australian Luke Durbridge blasted around today’s 12km individual time trial course to finish in seventh place on the second stage of the BinckBank Tour.

The timed event comes on the second day but is an important stage to set up the general classification ahead of five more tough road stages. Durbridge now sits in seventh place overall, 20seconds behind the stage and new race leader Stefan Kung (BMC).

Early starters

After yesterday’s bunch sprint finish, most of the sprinters were the last riders to start and therefore many top TT riders began early on. 

As third rider to start for Mitchelton-SCOTT, Durbridge produced a solid time of 14minutes 31seconds to move into the hot seat. Durbridge’s time was the fastest until Alex Dowsett (Katusha-Alpecin) went one second faster to knock the Aussie down into second place.

Hotseat changes

In the final phase of riders, the fastest time suddenly continued to change, first with Michael Matthews (Sunweb) knocking four seconds off the best time before Victor Campenaerts (Lotto-Soudal) and then Stefan Kung (BMC) in close succession of each other, posted a new fastest time.

The riders completed the distance one-by-one but nobody was able to beat the time of the Swiss rider which proved to be enough to win the stage and move into the overall race lead.

Luke Durbridge

"I’m happy with my ride today to finish in seventh place. A top ten finish in any Worldtour time trial is a solid ride and I’m happy after the Tour de France to bounce back and be able to put in a solid ride like today.

"Hopefully now with a few classic style races coming up we can move up further on the general classification and also we saw from Caleb yesterday in the sprint, there is no reason why he cannot win a stage here."

BinckBank Tour stage 2 results:

1. Stefan Kung (BMC) 14:11
2. Victor Campenaerts (Lotto-Soudal) 14:25
3. Soren Andersen (Sunweb) 14:26 
7. Luke Durbridge (Mitchelton-SCOTT) 14:31

General classification after stage 2:

1. Stefan Kung (BMC) 4:15
2. Victor Campenaerts (Lotto-Soudal) +0:14
3. Soren Andersen (Sunweb) +0:15
7. Luke Durbridge (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +0:20

Photos courtesy of Getty Images