Ewan continues criterium success with national championship victory

Wed 6 Jan 2016

2015 Vuelta a Espana stage winner Caleb Ewan has continued his impressive start to 2016 by taking out the Mars Cycling Australia National Criterium Championship this evening in Ballarat.

The 21-year-old, who claimed his third Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic title on Monday, lined up in the first national championship of the week alongside ORICA-GreenEDGE’s strongest ever contingent of riders in the criterium.

The outfit controlled the majority of racing courtesy of Luke Durbridge and Jack Haig, leaving Mitch Docker and Alexander Edmondson to take the reigns in the final laps before Ewan finished it off with a convincing win in the sprint.

"I can't fault them, perfect from start to finish," Ewan said of his teammates. "First, when all of the attacks were going, they controlled things and only let the breaks go that they wanted to. Then they pretty much rode the front for the rest of the race making everyone else struggle behind."

"Alex went down the back straight on the last lap and when he hit the front no one could come around us. And he still had enough energy to go around the corner and take me up most of the straight until a had to start my sprint with 200metres to go. To have a guy as fast as Alex leading you out, anyone who is out of position can't really move up.

"200metres to go was the first time I had to touch the wind for the whole race, so that makes it a whole lot easier."

With the road race still to come, Ewan is confident the team is looking strong.

"I think everyone is going really well, so Sunday should be pretty exciting."

How it happened:

It was a fast and furious start to racing in the elite men’s Mars Cycling Australia Criterium Championship, but the peloton remained largely together thanks to the efforts of ORICA-GreenEDGE controlling at the fore.

A move of three riders - Adam Phelan, Pat Lane and Nathan Earle - rode momentarily off the front, but were shut down by the power of the chase led by Durbridge and Haig. Those who followed with similar attempts suffered the same fate as the race was destined for a bunch sprint.

The Mars Cycling Australia Road National Championships continue with the time trial championships in Buningyong tomorrow.

Mars Cycling Australia Road National Championships Criterium - Race Results:
1. Caleb Ewan (NSW) 59:54 
2. Brenton Jones (VIC) ST
3. Anthony Giacoppo (WA) ST