Gerry Ryan OAM inducted into the Cycling Australia Hall of Fame

Wed 11 Nov 2015

Team owner and creator, Gerry Ryan OAM, was announced today as one of the first inductees into the Cycling Australia Hall of Fame.

Ryan joined Ray Godkin OAM and Charlie Walsh OAM as ‘general category’ inductees, recognised for the ‘off the bike’ contributions they have made to play a major role in the success of Australian cycling.

The trio will join nine former riders, including past ORICA-GreenEDGE sprinter Robbie McEwen, when they are formally inducted at the Cycling Australia Awards this Friday, 13 November.

Ryan founded ORICA-GreenEDGE in 2011 and the outfit became the first Australian cycling team to race in the UCI WorldTour in 2012. ORICA-AIS also became the first professional women’s team from Australia.

ORICA-GreenEDGE and ORICA-AIS remain the country’s sole representatives for the upcoming 2016 season as Ryan continues to throw his support behind the team’s success.

But Ryan’s involvement and contributions to Australian cycling began far before the birth of ORICA-GreenEDGE.

The owner and founder of Jayco Australia’s first involvement was in support of female rider Kathy Watt in 1992. Having funded her attendance to the Barcelona Olympics, Watt retuned home with two gold medals.

Since then, Ryan’s passion for cycling has only escalated. 

He is a major financial contributor to Cycling Australia and it’s development programs as well as sponsoring many of the country’s top events, including naming rights level of the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic and Jayco Herald Sun Tour.

Ryan also served as the Cycling Australia president in 2013.

Along with his contributions to cycling, Ryan is also heavily involved in horse racing and women’s basketball with roles extending to soccer, rugby and AFL. The Australian Olympic Committee awarded him an Order of Merit for his contributions to all sport in 2013.

The riders and staff at ORICA-GreenEDGE congratulate Gerry on a worthy induction into the Cycling Australia Hall of Fame and thank him for his support and for sharing their passion for the success of this team.