Yates drops out of race lead on stage 19 of the Giro d’Italia

Fri 25 May 2018

Briton Simon Yates has dropped out of overall contention at the Giro d’Italia today, unable to follow the group of favourites on the Cimo Coppi climb on the queen stage of this year’s Tour.

Having already won three stages and spent 13 days in the race lead, Yates succumbed to fatigue as Chris Froome (Team Sky) powered away for an 80km solo victory to take the Maglia Rosa from the Mitchelton-SCOTT rider.

Cima Coppi:
Having controlled the race over the first climb, Mitchelton-SCOTT continued to ride on the front of the bunch as it made its way through the valley to the Finestre. 

Immediately on the climb, Team Sky moved to the front and set a furious pace that shelled the group quickly to 30riders. Shortly after, still on the lower slopes of this year’s highest climb, Yates also found himself in difficulty. 

All for One:
As Yates fell off the back, teammate Mikel Nieve dropped back to help pace his leader. They were shortly joined by Jack Haig but the trio were over 15minutes behind the solo move of Froome as they crested the top of Finestre with two more climbs to go.

By the end of the stage, the Yates group also had the support of Roman Kreuziger and Chris Juul-Jensen but crossed the line over 38minutes adrift. 

Simon Yates:
“At the start there was no signs of anything wrong. I was just tired, extremely exhausted and that’s bike riding unfortunately.  I tried to manage (the gap) but I really had nothing to give. 

“I gave everything today, it’s just how it is. But I’ll be back.

“It obviously hurts, but I have said all along that this is how I needed to ride this Giro to try to win it and if I achieved nothing more I can still be happy. And I will be.”


Giro d’Italia – Stage 19 results:
1. Chris Froome (Team-Sky) 05:12:26
2. Richard Carapaz (Movistar) +3:00
3. Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ) +3:07
77. Roman Kreuziger (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +38:51

Giro d’Italia – General classification after Stage 19:
1. Chris Froome (Team-Sky) 80:21:59
2. Tom Dumoulin (Team-Sunweb) +0:40
3. Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ) +4:17
18. Simon Yates (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +35:42 

Photos courtesy of Getty Images.