Haig the fastest for Mitchelton-SCOTT in the opening Tour of Utah prologue

Mon 6 Aug 2018

The 2018 Tour of Utah kicked off today in blistering hot conditions with a short 5.3km prologue event.

Mitchelton-SCOTT’s general classification hopeful Jack Haig posted a time of six minutes 42seconds, fast enough for 21st place which keeps him in good contetion overall just 14seconds down on the eventual winner Tejay van Garderen (BMC).

With temperatures above 40degrees and racing at altitude, the event was certainly a challenge for everyone. BMC rider Tom Bohli set the early bench mark with a time of six minutes and 33seconds. Bohli remained in the hot seat for over one hour and it looked more and more like no riders would be able to beat the time.

Eventually, in the final phase of riders to start, teammate Joey Rosskoph completed the distance two seconds faster than Bohli to knock him down into second place.

As one of the final riders to start, Van Garderen was the rider to go the quickest to give BMC a one, two, three in the opening event.

The team finished the event with track star Cameron Meyer in 39th place, Kiwi Sam Bewley 48th,  Rob Power 50th, Lucas Hamilton 56th and stagiaire Brayan Chaves 116th.

In an event which isn't the Australian's forte, Haig produced a solid ride over the short distance to keep him self high in contention 

Jack Haig

"The course was straight forward, with a big road, it was only allowed to use road bikes and no disk wheels, some teams were using TT helmets but we chose to use the SCOTT aero road helmet.

"I'm pretty happy with the result, it puts us into a relatively good position, we aren't leading the race so we don't need to ride and we can take a bit of a back seat and take some chances later on. 

"It is sort of where I expected to be, it was a short effort and not something I am super suited too.

"The heat was around 40degrees in St George, the air is quite dry here which makes the throat a bit dry and made racing a bit harder."

Tour of Utah prologue results:

1. Tejay van Garderen (BMC) 0:06:27
2. Joseph Rosskoph (BMC) +0:03
3. Tom Bohli (BMC) +0:05
21. Jack Haig (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +0:14

Photo courtesy of Getty Images