Impey claims his seventh South African time trial title

Wed 7 Feb 2018

Recently crowned Tour Down Under winner Daryl Impey has continued his winning momentum by impressing once again at the South African national championships to claim his seventh time trial title today in Oudtshoorn.

Impey is the first South African rider to win the time trial title seven times after dominating the 43.8kilometre race against the clock in blistering hot conditions, to finish two minutes 17seconds faster than his nearest rival, Ryan Gibbons (Dimension-Data). 

Dary Impey - 2018 National TT champion 

“It is always nice to win the time trial, every year there is always a bit more pressure. I was confident after Down Under that I would come here and be able to do a good ride, it was really hard and I am super happy with it.”

“I started off quite fast and hard but kind of blew up a little bit towards the end, but I think I still paced it quite well.

“It was so hot compared to other years and I think the competition felt that. It was around 36degrees at two thirty in the afternoon.”

The South African Road Race Championships takes place on Saturday 10th February, where Impey will be back in action aiming to bring his national coloured road jersey to Mitchelton-SCOTT for the first time.

“The road race is something I have never won so there is always pressure from myself to try and win. It is important to try and win it eventually, but it is hard, I know the odds are stacked against me with all the teams and their numbers. 

“I am hoping to carry some form from Down Under and hopefully do something special on Saturday, we will see, it is always difficult to say what will happen. 

“Condition-wise I am ready for it, it is quite a short race so I think it should be quite aggressive.”

South Africa National Time Trial Results:
1. Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-SCOTT) 52:37
2. Ryan Gibbons (Team Dimension Data)  +2:17
3. Rohan de Ploy +6:49