Impey repeats for 11th on stage 2 of Tour Down Under

Wed 16 Jan 2019

Reigning champion Daryl Impey has mirrored yesterday’s performance to finish 11th on stage two of the Tour Down Under.

Impey was positioned safely at the front of the bunch by his Mitchelton-SCOTT teammates in a crash-marred finale and now sits 15thoverall, 15seconds behind stage winner and new race leader Patrick Bevin (CCC Team).

Short-lived breakaway
Three riders set off without dispute from the peloton on stage two and rode out to a three-minute advantage. 

King of the Mountain points were the main motivation for Jason Lea (UniSA-Australia), Artyom Zakharov (Astana Pro Team) and Jaime Castrillo (Movistar Team) and once they were contested on Checker Hill Lea dropped back to the bunch before the remaining duo also lost interest after the intermediate sprints and the peloton was back together with 52km still left to race. 

Sneaky solo doesn’t stop sprint:
A second, solo move animated the final hour of racing, but it never threatened the expected bunch sprint finish and was shut down easily with three kilometres remaining. 

A reasonably easy day in the saddle, despite the heat, made for an anxious and hectic final with a crash in the final sprint blocking the road for those positioned in the back half of the bunch.

Well positioned, Mitchelton-SCOTT and Impey avoided the carnage, with the South African finishing once again in 11thposition.

Having taken five bonus seconds from the breakaway yesterday and ten more courtesy of his stage victory today, Bevin has positioned himself as a serious overall contender after the first two days.

Daryl Impey:
“The guys did a great job again today, I’m a little bit disappointed not to get a result today but that’s how it goes sometimes. We are getting the job done, looking after each other so it’s all good.”

Tour Down Under – Stage 2 Results:
1. Paddy Bevin (CCC Team) 3:14:31
2. Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal) ST
3. Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) ST
11. Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-SCOTT) ST

Tour Down Under – General Classification after Stage 2:
1. Paddy Bevin (CCC Team) 6:34:03
2. Elia Viviani (Deceuninck – Quickstep) +0:05
3. Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal) +0:09
15. Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +0:15

Photo courtesy of Getty Images.