Meyer seals seventh overall at the Tour of Quanzhou Bay

Mon 4 Dec 2017

The 2017 season came to a close for Mitchelton-SCOTT in China today at the Tour of Quanzhou Bay with Cameron Meyer finishing safely in the bunch to secure seventh overall for the team.

A flying start to the third and final stage saw repeated attacks trying to go clear from the off with Mitchelton-SCOTT particularly aggressive in their attempts to shake things up.

Somehow, despite the frenetic pace the peloton remained attentive and together as the race sped past the halfway point and into a headwind that remained for much of the approach into the final.

Race leaders BikeChannel-Canyon were amongst the sprinters teams trying to hold things together and maintain the speed as a hectic finish started to unfold, but it was Latvian Denis Kanepejs (Rietumu-Banka-Riga) who took the victory with Fuwen Xue in 32nd for Mitchelton-SCOTT.

“We rode aggressively throughout today’s stage and the boys repeatedly tried to shake things up and get an attack going,” said sport director Neil Stephens. “Unfortunately it wasn’t to be and a combination of the sprinters teams and the top placed GC teams controlled the front and we couldn’t make anything stick.”

“Concluding in a big bunch sprint was to be expected on this kind of short, fast and flat stage and there were no surprises in the end. We came into the race with quite high expectations, but we didn’t quite get there.

“It has been hard racing over the last three days and we had a mixture of guys coming to the end of a long season and others still on the way to top form for the start of 2018.

“Nevertheless the boys rode well together and despite not hitting our overall targets we come away with a top ten GC placing and lots of positives for the future.”

Tour of Quanzhou Bay stage three result:

1. Denis Kanepejs (Rietumu-Banka-Riga) 02:02:12

2. Harry Tanfield (BikeChannel-Canyon) ST

3. Tino Thomel (Bike-Aid) ST

32. Fuwen Xue (Mitchelton-SCOTT) ST

Final general classification:

1. Max Stedman (BikeChannel-Canyon) 06:33:29

2. Drew Morey (Terengganu-Cycling-Team) +0:06

3. Dawit Yemane (Eritrea) +0:19

7. Cameron Meyer (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +0:54