Mitchelton-SCOTT finish fourth on stage 3 TTT at Criterium du Dauphine as Impey moves to 8th overall

Wed 6 Jun 2018

Mitchelton-SCOTT fought to fourth place in today's third stage of Criterium du Dauphine, a 35kilometre team time trial.

Stage one winner Daryl Impey started the day as the race leader but with a slim advantage of just two seconds over Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky).

In the end it was Team Sky who took a convincing victory in the event, finishing with a time of 36minutes and 33seconds to steal the stage win by 37seconds over BMC and move Kwiatkowski back into the race lead.

Mitchelton-SCOTT, the last team to start, passed the first time check after 14kilometres with the second fastest time just nine seconds down on Team Sky. By the second time check after 24.5kilometres, the Australian outfit dropped one more place down into third fastest, 37seconds behind Sky with BMC two seconds faster.

Finally the team completed the distance and stopped the clock with a time of 37minutes 27seconds, which put South African champion Impey into eighth place overall at 54seconds.

The 33-year-old was able to retain the points jersey which he will wear in tomorrow's stage as the team now turn their attention to the mountains and the next GC battle.

Daryl Impey

“It’s been a fantastic moment to ride the team time trial with the yellow-blue jersey. I’ve felt very proud. If you told me I’d come to the Dauphiné and I’d be in this jersey one day, I would have taken it, so I’m happy.

"I would have loved to keep the jersey but we’ve done our best and that’s all we could ask for. Sky had an exceptional day, they got everything together.

"We had a good ride as well, we went as fast as we could. We didn’t make any mistakes but Sky has all world class time trialist in one team. They knew they’d beat us today.

"We’ll come to the Tour de France with a stronger team, time trial wise and let’s hope we can beat Sky in July.” 

Criterium du Dauphine stage 3 results:

1. Team Sky 36:33
2. BMC +0:37
3. Lotto-Soudal +0:52
4. Mitchelton-SCOTT +0:56

General classification after stage 3:

1. Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) 9:28
2. Gianni Moscon (Team Sky) +0:03
3. J Castrovie (Team Sky) +0:09
8. Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +0:54

Photos courtesy of Getty Images