Mitchelton-SCOTT confirm Sport Director team for 2019

Fri 21 Dec 2018

Mitchelton-SCOTT has confirmed its team of sport directors for next season, looking to lead its talented men’s and women’s line ups to even greater things in 2019.

After five seasons with Mitchelton-SCOTT women, Gene Bates will join the men’s director squad whilst maintaining a Performance Manager role with the women’s team. 

With seven years of experience as a road coach at the UCI’s World Cycling Centre, the women’s outfit will welcome Alejandro Gonzalez-Tablas who will join Martin Vestby as the two women’s sport directors. 

Gene Bates:
“I’m looking forward to new challenges and a new calendar of races the most.  

“I think the men’s team is entering an exciting period ahead, with a real GC focus, and multiple riders capable of winning the overall at Grand Tours. Of course I am nervous, but I think it’s good practice to change and become uncomfortable again.

“My time with the women’s team has been one of the most challenging, but rewarding periods actually. We set out to achieve something big, to really develop what we had and raise the bar in lots of different areas. 

“Certainly there were times when I was wondering if what I was doing was right and we were going in the right direction, but I always had great support around me, and now when I look back on the last years I’m proud of where the team is, and where it can go.” 

Alejandro Gonzalez-Tablas:
“Mitchelton-SCOTT had a very successful season in 2018 and became one of the best teams in the women’s WorldTour classification. Joining this team means a logical step in my career as DS and coach.

“I’m really looking forward to helping to develop successful performance protocols that will help the team achieve the important goals of the season, but also I’m looking forward to work with the group that has been assembled and that has been so successful this year and keep that progression line positive for 2019.”

Men’s Directors:

  • Matt White (head sport director)
  • Vittorio Algeri
  • Gene Bates (from women’s team)
  • Julian Dean
  • Mathew Hayman (new, part-time)
  • Laurenzo Lapage
  • David McPartland
  • Matthew Wilson

Women’s Directors:

  • Martin Vestby (head sport director)
  • Alejandro Gonzalez-Tablas (new)

Photo courtesy of Getty Images.