Options for ORICA-GreenEDGE in Québec and Montréal

Wed 10 Sep 2014

A strong line up will give ORICA-GreenEDGE options when they tackle the Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec and Montréal races this Friday and Sunday.

Whilst Australian champion Simon Gerrans, who tasted success in 2012 with a win in Québec and fourth place at Montréal, is a recognisable leader within the outfit, the strength of the team will see it play many cards.

Amongst them is part of the winning contingent from the Tour of Alberta, straight off the back of Daryl Impey’s victory on the final stage to claim the overall title last weekend.

The eight riders for Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec and Montréal are: Christian Meier, Daryl Impey, Jens Keukeleire, Mathew Hayman, Michael Albasini, Pieter Weening, Simon Gerrans and Simon Yates.

“It’s a really strong team,” sport director Matt Wilson said.

“A good part of the team was in Alberta and they are all going really well. The guys that we have coming over are going well too so I am pretty excited about the team we have this year.

“Although Gerro is an obvious leader in our team, we actually have a quite few options and things we can do so I think we can use it to our advantage and play it quite tactically.”

Wilson said he expects the closing stages of both races to be critical in determining the champion.

“Quebec is almost always all together coming into the last climb,” he said. 

“I think in all of the editions in the WorldTour that’s how is has gone. What happens up that last climb I don’t know, that is anyone’s guess.

“With Montreal it really comes down to the wire whether something can jump away on the last lap and whether it will come back.  

“It’s quite similar to Plouay in that respect and it’s a little bit of a gamble what your plan is but we will have a good talk about it before the race and decide how we are going to approach that one.”

ORICA-GreenEDGE at the Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec and Montréal: 

Christian Meier
Daryl Impey
Jens Keukeleire
Mathew Hayman
Michael Albasini
Pieter Weening
Simon Gerrans
Simon Yates