ORICA-GreenEDGE To Race 2013 Tour de Langkawi

Tue 11 Dec 2012

In a press conference in Putrajaya, Malaysia on Monday, Le Tour de Langkawi announced that ORICA-GreenEDGE has committed to participate in the 2013 edition of the Malaysian race. The Australian outfit will race an expanded schedule in its second season and is proud to include LTdL amongst its additions. 

The ten day stage race covers 1466.6 kilometres. The challenging route features key climbs up Cameron Highlands and Genting Highlands.

When the road tilts up, ORICA-GreenEDGE will look to Cameron Meyer and Pieter Weening to come to fore. Meyer boasted a top-ten overall finish at Tirreno-Adriatico and narrowly missed the top-ten at Amgen Tour of California. At Vuelta a España, Meyer rode himself into two dangerous breakaways over undulating terrain, finishing second on stage 13.

Recovering from an injury during the first half of the season last year, Weening rebuilt his form slowly but steadily during the spring. By May, he had rediscovered his climbing legs. He finished tenth overall at Amgen Tour of California and 11th at Critérium du Dauphiné after two top-ten stage results.

Travis Meyer joins his older brother in Malaysia. The reliable domestique has the ability to contribute to the team’s workload in nearly any type of race. Sam Bewley offers further support on the various terrain the team will tackle during the Malaysian Tour. The New Zealander raced a split schedule between the track and the road last year and plans to focus on the road during the 2013 season.

Luke Durbridge and Aidis Krupois round out the six rider squad. Although the stage race lacks a time trial, Durbridge will look to make his mark over the ten day tour as he continues his development as a general contender for shorter stage races. Kruopis will factor into the fast finishes. The Lithuanian notched his first WorldTour win in a field sprint at the Tour of Poland during ORICA-GreenEDGE’s maiden season.

ORICA-GreenEDGE for the 2013 Le Tour de Langkawi:

Sam Bewley (NZL)
Luke Durbridge (AUS)
Aidis Kruopis (LTU)
Cameron Meyer (AUS)
Travis Meyer (AUS)
Pieter Weening (NED)