ORICA-SCOTT conserve energy on stage 17 of Giro d’Italia

Wed 24 May 2017

Tour de France best young rider Adam Yates has finished safely in the group of general classification favourites as the breakaway stole the show on stage 17 of the Giro d’Italia.

The stage, starting in Tirano and finishing in Canazei, was the second consecutive day over 200km and with the hardest climbs early in the stage, ORICA-SCOTT made the decision to save energy ahead of another brutal stage tomorrow.

“For us, today was about conserving some energy,” sport director Matt White said. “The team have worked extremely hard daily up until this point, with both sprint and GC ambitions, and with today’s finale one not really suitable for gaining time, it was time to take a backwards seat for the day.”

“Tomorrow is filthy. It’s a short stage but there are 4000m of climbing in 137km. It’s going to be brutal.”

Ahead of the peloton, Pierre Rolland (Cannondale-Drapac) claimed a solo victory, attacking his breakaway companions in the final 10km. Jan Polanc (UAE Emirates) dropped off the breakaway group but finished ahead of the peloton to push Yates back outside the top 10 with four stages remaining.

How it happened:

Three riders formed the first breakaway of stage 17 before a second group of 40 riders set off in pursuit, amongst them Chris Juul-Jensen for ORICA-SCOTT.

The composition remained like this for more than half of the stage before the pressure of the chase saw it split.

With 60km to go, some of the chasers had bridged to the three leaders to make a group of 13. Within the next 20km it had swelled to 25.

Behind, the gap was extending beyond 10minutes to the peloton containing the general classification players. With Polanc a threat to the white jersey, Quickstep began to chase and reduced the gap beyond any immediate threat.

Rolland attacked in the final 10km to take the victory. The main peloton, containing Yates, crossed the line seven minutes 54seconds adrift.

Giro d'Italia - Stage 17 Results:

1. Pierre Rolland (Cannondale-Drapac) 5:42:56
2. Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates) +0:24
3. Gorka Izagirre (Movistar Team) +0:24
28. Michael Hepburn (ORICA-SCOTT) +7:54

Giro d'Italia - General Classification after stage 17:

1. Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) 76:05:38
2. Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team) +0:31
3. Vincenzo Nibale (Bahrain-Merida) +1:12
11. Adam Yates (ORICA-SCOTT) +7:00