ORICA-SCOTT through stage 5 unscathed as the Dauphine transitions to the mountains tomorrow

Thu 8 Jun 2017

ORICA-SCOTT has finished stage five of the Criterium du Dauphine unscathed as the race concluded with another bunch sprint ahead of three mountainous days to come. 

After breakaways destroyed two of the sprint opportunities earlier in the week, the fast-men were determined not to give up their final opportunity for glory, bringing the race back together in the final ten kilometres.

Phil Bauhaus (Team Sunweb) took the victory whilst Esteban Chaves was ORICA-SCOTT’s top finisher in 30th position on bunch time. 

“Today the most important thing for us was to not lose time in the final and keep Simon (Yates) and Esteban safe,” sport director Laurenzo Lapage said. “We didn’t want to get caught behind people sitting up and between seven and two kilemeters to go it was really hectic with left and right corners and roundabouts.”

“We are in a good position with Simon, he didn’t lose time today, and now the next three days will be crucial.”

Tomorrow, the form indicating race hits the mountains for the first real hit out for Tour de France general classification contenders. 

The sixth stage crests the Hors Category climb of Mont du Chat 15km before a crucial decent into the finish in La Motte-Servolex.

“For the climbers it will be really important to start in a good position over the top of the climb because the descent is really technical,” Lapage explained. “They announced that it will also possibly rain tomorrow so that will make things even more difficult.

“The descent will be crucial because the finish is directly after and for anyone starting even just a little bit back it will be hectic to try to move up.”

How it happened:

Stage 5 of the Criterium du Dauphine was the last opportunity for sprint teams and proceedings followed as such.

The bunch kept an eye on breakaway compositions before finally letting four riders free.

Koen Bouwman (Team LottoNL-Jumbo), Dylan Van Baarle (Cannondale-Drapac), Marco Minnaard (Wanty – Groupe Gobert) and Julien El Fares (Delko Marseille Provence KTM) rode out to a five-minute advantage but never threatened for the stage victory. 

In the closing kilometre the quartet split apart with Van Baarle the final survivor before being swept up with 6.2km remaining. 

A furious pace was set for the bunch sprint with Bauhaus too strong. Thomas De Gendt finished amongst the group to hold onto the leader’s jersey for another day.

Criterium du Dauphine – Stage 5 Results:

1. Phil Bauhaus (Team Sunweb) 4:04:32
2. Arnaud Demare (FDJ) ST
3. Bryan Coquard (Direct Energie) ST
30. Esteban Chaves (ORICA-SCOTT) ST

Criterium du Dauphine – General Classification after stage 5:

1. Thomas de Gendt (Lotto Soudal) 17:10:25
2. Richie Porte (BMC Racing) +0:27
3. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) +0:51
14. Simon Yates (ORICA-SCOTT) +1:30