Scotson tries his luck with late attack in Langkawi

Wed 21 Mar 2018

Multiple Australian Track medalist Callum Scotson launched himself into a late solo attack with ten kilometres to go on stage four of Le Tour de Langkawi, holding off the peloton until close to the line before a frantic bunch sprint unfolded.

Mitchelton-BikeExchange played a tactically smart race, sitting on behind the days breakaway until the sprinters team’s brought things back together and Scotson picked his moment to attack.

Another predominantly flat stage suited the track pursuit skills of Scotson, but it wasn’t to be today, caught in the finishing straight it was left to teammate Jacob Hennessy to duke it out in the sprint, with the Briton placing 10th behind winner Riccardo Minali (Astana-Pro-Team).

Australian Harry Sweeny remains in third overall going into tomorrow’s mountain stage with a tough summit finish in Cameron Highlands providing a potentially race deciding finale.

Callum Scotson – Late Attack:

“The race was pretty steady today the early break was allowed up the road without too much of a fight and the bunch seemed happy to sit up. Like yesterday there were some crosswinds causing splits later on, but it all regrouped and the break was pulled back over the last 20kilometres.”

“Once it came back together the attacks started and I decided to wait until there was a lull before I jumped and I thought I might have a chance to hold on, because the gap seemed to be increasing, but they came flying past me in the last kilometre.

“It was worth a crack and I just tried to measure my effort to the line, but it wasn’t to be today. We still had Jacob behind for the sprint and Harry sitting nicely in the bunch to maintain our position on GC.”

Tour of Langkawi stage four results:

1. Riccardo Minali (Astana-Pro-Team)

2. Andrea Guardini (Bardiani-CSF)

3. Salem Mohd Hariff (Terengganu-Cycling-Team) ST

10. Jacob Hennessy (Mitchelton-BikeExchange) ST

General classification after stage four:

1. Adam de Vos (Rally-Cycling) 16:55:45

2. Zulkifli Nik Mohamad Azman (Forca-Amskins-Racing) +0:14

3. Harry Sweeny (Mitchelton-BikeExchange) +0:22