Short & technical prologue kicks of the Tour of Romandie

Tue 24 Apr 2018

The 2018 edition of the Swiss tour, the Tour of Romandie, kicked off today with a short, sharp four kilometre prologue.

Mitchelton-SCOTT arrived at the race with a team full of climbers not particularly suited to the short, punchy effort. Rob Power was the highest finisher for the team in 29th place behind the winner, former team rider Michael Matthews (Sunweb).

Short, sharp opening

The six-day race began like previous editions with a traditional opening prologue. The four kilometre race against the clock was technical with multiple corner and with cobblestones.

In the early stages, Tom Bohli (BMC) set the fastest time with 5minutes 34seconds and moved into the hot seat for a lengthy period.

In the end it was Matthews who stole the victory, beating Bohli by just one second to claim the stage victory and move into the overall race lead.

Bike selection

With a short and technical course the riders practiced before the start, riding numerous laps before finally deciding which bike to use.

With a team mostly made up of climbers, many opted to use the road bike as oppose to the time trial bike, feeling it was more advantage due to being more comfortable on the cobblestones and corners.

Carlos Verona

Today we rode the prologue of this over a four kilometre technical and hard course, with a first flat kilometre but after that everything was up and down with corners and cobblestones. 

“I decided to do it in my road bike, the Scott Foil, as I am not a pure specialist and I was feeling more comfortable handling the bike in the tricky parts. Also the Scott Foil its a very versatile bike, super aero and also light. 

“Tomorrow the mountains are coming, and I am sure that with the group of riders that we have here, we will shine more. 

“Today was a day for fast and explosive riders and we don’t really have anyone with this profile here, but from tomorrow on, the race suits much better for all us. We are ready to go.”

Tour of Romandie results:

1. Michael Mathews (Sunweb) 5:33
2. Tom Bohli (BMC) +0:01
3. Primo Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo) ST
29. Rob Power (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +0:18

Photo courtesy of Getty Images