Strong time trial keeps Groves in touch at the Tour of China II

Sat 22 Sep 2018

After spending the majority of stage four in the hot seat Kaden Groves ended up fourth in the individual time trial at the Tour of China II and moving to fourth overall for Mitchelton-Exchange with one more day of racing to come.

The 21kilometre course ran at 1,300metres altitude in Anshun and as anticipated brought about a shake-up of the general classification with the top ten overall taking on an entirely different complexion going into the final day of competition,

The 19-year-old Australian wasn’t entirely suited to the course but rode powerfully over the undulations and finished with a time of 28minutes 12seconds less than 20seconds down on eventual stage winner Artem Ovechkin (Terrenganu-Cycling-Team).

Zhi Hui Jiang continued his run of strong performances to further strengthen his hold atop of the bets Asian rider classification and goes into the fifth and final stage comfortable in the white jersey.

Sport director James Victor:

“It was a very strong ride from Kaden today, he was in the hot seat for a long time and for a big, powerful rider he maintained his speed and rhythm over the climb very impressively and kept himself in contention.”

“All the guys rode well and posted times good enough to keep us in contention for the team’s classification as well as going a long way to securing our hold on the white Asian rider’s jersey.

“Tomorrow’s last stage is virtually pan flat and will most likely come down to a sprint. There are a few things still up for grabs tomorrow including the stage win, points jersey and a podium spot on the GC.

“The top placings are still very tight and with bonus seconds available we will be looking to move up and try to take everything we can out of the Tour.”

Tour of China II stage four ITT results:

1. Artem Ovechkin (Terrenganu-Cycling-Team) 00:27:53

2. Alejandro Marque (Sporting Tavira) 00:27:53

3. Matteo Spreafico (Androni-Giocattoli-Sidermec) 00:28:10

4. Kaden Groves (Mitchelton-BikeExchange) 00:28:12

General classification after stage four:

1. Alejandro Marque (Sporting Tavira) 07:45:15

2. Artem Ovechkin (Terrenganu-Cycling-Team) ST

3. Anthony Giacoppo (Bennelong-SwissWellness) +0:04

4. Kaden Groves (Mitchelton-BikeExchange) +0:07