Sweeny seals tenth overall at Le Tour de Langkawi

Sun 25 Mar 2018

A tough eight days of racing at Le Tour de Langkawi came to a close for Mitchelton-BikeExchange in Malaysia today with 19-year-old Australian Harry Sweeny securing tenth on the general classification.

After making a key move and finishing fourth on stage three Sweeny moved up to third on GC, but unfortunately lost time on the final two stages when the breakaway made it all the way to the line on stage seven and a late mechanical saw Sweeny chasing the peloton on stage eight.

Artem Ovechkin (Terngganu-Cycling-Team) secured the race victory with the final stage won by Italian sprinter Andrea Guradini (Bardiani-CSF).

British sprinter Jacob Hennessy was involved in a crash early in the race and recovered for a top ten finish on stage four whilst Liu Jiankun was the best placed Chinese rider overall in 48th place.

Sport Director Dave Sanders:

“The whole team did a good job throughout the race and Harry in particular was very unfortunate on today’s final stage. He did excellent work to make it into the front group and on the road had moved up onto the podium in the standings.”

“The race ended up coming back together with ten kilometres to go and then disaster struck. Harry suffered double punctures and lost significant time on the bunch. He did his best to chase back through the cars but ended up losing some time and slipping to tenth overall.

“Nevertheless, I am very pleased with how the team rode despite the fact that we didn’t get the big result we were looking for. The signs are really encouraging for the season to come and our Chinese guys Niu Yikui and Liu Jiankun handled themselves very well in a tough race that was at a level they hadn’t experienced before.”

Tour of Langkawi stage eight results:

1. Andrea Guardini (Bardiani-CSF) 03:10:25

2. Manuel Belletti (Androni-Sidermec-Bottecchia) ST

3. Luca Pacioni (Willier-Triestina-Selle-Italia)

49. Harry Sweeny (Mitchelton-BikeExchange) +0:18

Final general classification:

1. Artem Ovechkin (Terengganu-Cycling-Team) 32:06:45

2. Lukasz Owsian (CCC-Sprandi-Polkowice) +0:27

3. Benjamin Dyball (St.George-Cycling-Team) +0:32

10. Harry Sweeny (Mitchelton-BikeExchange) +1:17

Photos courtesy of QiCycling.