Trentin slips to second overall by one second on the Queen stage of the OVO Energy Tour of Britain

Tue 10 Sep 2019

Stage two winner Matteo Trentin lost his overall race lead today at the OVO Energy Tour of Britain, by just one second, after Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) sprinted to the stage victory, taking valuable bonus seconds on the line to snatch the race lead.

Mitchelton-SCOTT made a huge effort throughout the day, animating the stage once again by always having numbers at the front of the peloton, controlling the breakaway and attackers. Trentin remained in control and was at the front through all the splits and finished the stage in ninth position, three seconds down on the stage winner Van der Poel, which proved to be just one second too many to hold on to his overall race lead.

Two Become Three

Like previous stages, within the opening 20kilometres of the race a breakaway was able to form. Two-riders jumped away from the bunch and opened up a two-minute lead and on the first classified climb of the day, Dylan van Baarle (Ineos), made the junction across to the leaders to form a trio.

The three escapees all started the day just 17seconds down on Trentin, the race leader, and therefore stood as the virtual leaders. 

Mitchelton-SCOTT Head The Chase

Taking responsibility once again, the team sent Edoardo Affini and Jack Bauer to the head of the peloton to set the tempo to gradually reel in the trio.

With help from other teams as the race entered the final 50 kilometres, two of the breakaway riders were swallowed up over the undulating terrain with just Van Baarle fighting on ahead, maintaining a lead of over one-minute.

Final Climbs Shatters The Peloton

On the final classified climb with 35kilometres to go, the solo leader was swept up and the race split to pieces. The peloton shattered into various groups due to a fierce tempo set up the narrow ascent with Mitchelton-SCOTT remaining with strength in numbers, with four-riders making it into the select front group of around 40. 

With 10kilometres to go, three new riders broke away and Cameron Meyer, Luke Durbridge and Alex Edmondson led the chase at the front of the bunch in attempt to reel them back in.

Finally the catch was made inside the final 500metres as Van der Poel blasted up the road, past the trio of leaders, and distanced the bunch to claim the stage win by three-seconds. 

Trentin now sits in second place overall, just one-second down on Van der Poel, and holds onto his lead in the points classification with four-stages still to go.

Matteo Trentin - Second Place Overall

“The guys rode amazingly today, Edoardo (Affini) and Jack (Bauer) again from the start and then when we got to the climb I was able to stay in the first group and I could just sit there then and wait for Cameron (Meyer) Luke (Durbridge) and (Alex) Edmondson to come back. 

“Then we decided to jump into the moves without controlling but then it started to get a bit too messy so we decided to take over again going into the finish. It was working for a while but then as predicted a move could sneak away.

"Going into the finishing kick, I had good legs until 100metres to go and then I just exploded. First of all we have to recover from today, because today was a really demanding day for everyone. I think every single rider today had a really demanding day.

"Lets see tomorrow if I can sneak a couple of seconds and then we will see, the time trial will be the deciding point of the race.”

Matt Wilson - Sport Director

“It was a super impressive ride by all the guys to control the race for the second day in a row, from start to finish. Today was probably the hardest day of the tour and so I'm just very, very impressed by the guys and it is still all to play for.”


OVO Energy Tour of Britain - Stage 4 Results:

1. Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) 4:23:08
2. Jasper de Buyst (Lotto-Soudal) +0:03
3. Simon Clarke (EF Education First) +0:03
9. Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +0:03

OVO Energy Tour of Britain - General Classification:

1. Mathieu van der Poel  (Corendon-Circus) 17:36:27
2. Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +0:01
3. Jasper de Buyst (Lotto-Soudal) +0:07

Photo courtesy of Getty Images