Trentin sprints to 7th while Verona wraps up the season at the Tour of Guangxi with 5th overall

Sun 21 Oct 2018

Mitchelton-SCOTT wrapped up the 2018 season today at the Tour of Guangxi with a seventh place finish from yesterday’s stage winner Matteo Trentin.

It was Quick-Step Floors that came out on top with Fabio Jakobsen claiming the stage win, whilst Spaniard Carlos Verona secured fifth place overall in his final race for the Australian outfit, 21seconds behind the overall winner Gianni Moscon (Team Sky).

Another day, another breakaway

Like all of the other stages in the six-day race, a group of riders formed the day’s early breakaway not long after the flag dropped as the rain welcomed the peloton for another day. 

The peloton allowed a group of six riders to hover just over three minutes ahead until they decided to pick up the pace and begin to reel them back in. Over the only two climbs of the day their advantage dropped significantly and it looked like another bunch sprint on the menu.

Sprinters ready

After work from Team Sky and Quick-Step Floors, the leaders were finally brought back with just 10km remaining, just in time for another bunch sprint.

After yesterday’s stage win, Mitchelton-SCOTT backed Trentin once again but it wasn’t to be and the European champion concluded the tour with another top ten sprint finish. 

Carlos Verona

"Today was another wet and quick stage controlled mainly by Team Sky, as one of the members of the breakaway was about 40seconds behind on the GC. All day we were racing in single line and very fast.

"There was a climb around 40km to go, but it wasn’t as hard as yesterday and the peloton didn’t splint and so the final was a bit messy with Matteo finishing in seventh.

"I think we can go home happy with the stage win and the fifth on GC. We worked really good as a group and we have done our best every day."

Tour of Guangxi stage six results:

1. Fabio Jakobsen (Quick-Step Floors)
2. Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) ST
3. Rudiger Selig Bora-Hansgrohe)
7. Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-SCOTT)

Final general classification:

1. Gianni Moscon (Team Sky) 16:57
2. Felix Grosschartner (Bora-Hansgrohe) +0:09
3. Sergei Chernetski (Astana) +0:14
5. Carlos Verona (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +0:21

Photos courtesy of Getty Images