News

Virtual Tour de France – What you need to know

Thu 2 Jul 2020

Racing returns this weekend as our men’s squad lines up for the first ever Virtual Tour de France on Zwift. The race will see 23 professional teams tackle six virtual stages spread across three race weekends.

We’ve put together a quick guide with everything you need to know about the event, including stage details, our rider line-ups and how you can watch:

What:
Virtual Tour de France

Dates:
Saturday 4th to Sunday 19th July

Stage Details and Times:
Stage 1:
World: Watopia
Route: Watopia Hilly (Reverse)
Laps: 4
Distance: 36.4km
Elevation: 100m
Points: At intermediate sprints and KOM each lap, plus at finish.
Date: Saturday 4th July
Start time: 4:05pm CEST (12:05am AEST)

Stage 2:
World: Watopia
Route: Mountain
Laps: 1
Distance: 29.5km
Elevation: 682m
Points: At intermediate sprint, KOM and at finish.
Date: Sunday 5th July
Start time: 4:07pm CEST (12:07am AEST)

Stage 3:
World: France
Route: R.G.V
Laps: 2
Distance: 48km
Elevation: 266m
Points: 2x sprints per lap, 1x KOM per lap and points at finish.
Date: Saturday 11th July
Start time: 3:52pm CEST (11:52pm AEST)

Stage 4:
World: France
Route: Casse-Pattes
Laps: 2
Distance: 45.8km
Elevation: 310m
Points: 1x sprints per lap, 2x KOM per lap and points at finish.
Date: Sunday 12th July
Start time: 3:52pm CEST (11:52pm AEST)

Stage 5:
World: France
Route: La Reine
Laps: 1
Distance: 22.9km
Elevation: TBD
Points: At intermediate sprint, KOM and finish.
Date: Saturday 18th July
Start time: 3:58pm CEST (11:58pm AEST)

Stage 6:
World: France
Route: Champs-Elysees
Laps: 6
Distance: 45.8km
Elevation: 234
Points: At intermediate sprint each and finish.
Date: Sunday 19th July
Start time: 3:55pm CEST (11:55pm AEST)

Teams:
AG2R La Mondiale
Arkea Samsic
Alpecin-Fenix
Astana Pro Team
B&B Hotels - Vital Concept p/b KTM
Bahrain McLaren
Bora-Hansgrohe
CCC
Cofidis
Circus - Wanty Gobert
Deceuninck-Quick Step
EF Pro Cycling
Groupama FDJ
Israel Start-Up Nation
INEOS
Jumbo Visma
Lotto-Soudal
NTT Pro Cycling Team
Rally Cycling
Sunweb
Total Direct Energie
Trek-Segafredo

Points System:
The general classification, KOM and sprints competitions are determined by a ‘Team Points’ format. All points won by a team are combined to determine which team is leading each classification.

Each team will then select a ‘Team Captain’ to wear the classification jerseys each day should they be leading in any classification.

Mitchelton-SCOTT Team:
Stage 1:

Daryl Impey (RSA, 35)
Nick Schultz (AUS, 25)
Alexander Konychev (ITA, 21)
Dion Smith (NZL, 27)

Stage 2:
Barnabas Peak (HUN, 21)
Michael Hepburn (AUS, 28)
Damien Howson (AUS, 27)
Michael Albasini (SUI, 39)



Stage 3:
Callum Scotson (AUS, 23)
Jack Bauer (NZL, 35)
Sam Bewley (NZL, 32)
Esteban Chaves (COL, 30)



Stage 4:
Jack Haig (AUS, 26)
Nick Schultz (AUS, 25)
Barnabas Peak (HUN, 21)
Alex Edmondson (AUS, 26)

Stage 5:
Luke Durbridge (AUS, 29)
Lucas Hamilton (AUS24)
Brent Bookwalter (USA, 36)
Adam Yates (GBR, 27)

Stage 6:
Edoardo Affini (ITA, 24)
Kaden Groves (AUS, 21)
Rob Stannard (AUS, 21)
Luke Durbridge (AUS, 29)

Broadcast:
Daily on Eurosport, GCN, SBS (Australia) and on the Zwift website.

Comments