Wet and miserable stage five at the Giro d’Italia

Wed 15 May 2019

Relentless rain characterised the fifth stage of the Giro d’Italia, with organisers neutralising the final nine kilometre circuit due to dangerous conditions.

As Mitchelton-SCOTT, their leader Simon Yates and all the general classification contenders took their feet off the gas on the first passing of the finish line, Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) won the sprint to take his second stage win of the race.

Wet and miserable:
It was a wet and miserable day, with rain falling for the full three-hour stage. After the effects of yesterday’s carnage, including the subsequent withdrawal of Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) today, the peloton seems content to let a break of five go and ride co-operatively behind to hold the gap until two-minutes. 

Supporting the concerns for safely, the race jury also co-operated by neutralising the final lap and therefore taking the general classification times at 9.2km to go and allowing the sprinter to duke it out alone for the stage victory.

All about Ackermann:
As Yates and the full Mitchelton-SCOTT outfit took their feet off the gas as they passed the finish line as the sprint teams continued to lift the speed around the circuit Terracina. 

Ackermann claimed the spoils once again ahead of Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates) and Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ).

Matt White – Head Sport Director:
“It was a short day but the maximum was 12, between seven and 12 all day, and after six hours yesterday and six hours tomorrow I don’t think anyone was complaining about the decision. 

“The back part of the circuit was holding a lot of surface water and there was just no need to take a full peloton of 176 through there. We got the same result but with a lot less risk.”

Giro d’Italia – Stage 5 Results:
1. Pascal Ackermann (BORA-Hansgrohe) 3:15:44
2. Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates) ST
3. Arnaud Demare (Groupama – FDJ) ST
62. Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-SCOTT) ST

Giro d’Italia – General Classification after Stage 5:
1. Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) 19:35:04
2. Simon Yates(Mitchelton-SCOTT) +0:35
3. Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida) +0:39

Photo courtesy of Getty Images.