Yates in break on stage 17 despite yesterday’s crash

Wed 25 Jul 2018

Despite the effects of yesterday’s heavy crash, Mitchelton-SCOTT’s Adam Yates once again put himself in the break on stage 17 of the Tour de France.

At just 65km in length, the explosive stage, which featured three difficult climbs, ended in a general classification battle with Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team) taking the victory and the top three overall reshuffling. 

Break on the first climb:
Whilst the experiment of a grid start didn’t provide anything different than a standard stage start, it didn’t stop the attacks from flying from the flag. 

For the second successive day Yates was amongst a group of 20 riders in pursuit of a solo leader Tanel Kangert (Astana Pro Team). 

The 25-year-old was still is the first main chase group when it dropped to eight riders over the top of the first climb, but lost touch with around 35km remaining.

Finally a GC day:
Kangert and Julian Alaphilippe (Quickstep Floors) led the peloton but a minute on approach to the final climb before Kangert found himself alone at the front for a second time as the road angled up once again. 

Dan Martin (UAE Team Emirates) was the first to attack from the GC group but it was the counter from Quintana in the final 15km that proved the winning move. 

Whilst Martin also made up some time in the final, it was Chris Froome (Team Sky) who was the biggest name to get left behind, loosing 48seconds to his teammate and yellow jersey Geraint Thomas. 

Matt White – Head Sport Director:
“We are quite happy, and actually a bit surprised, with how Adam has bounced back from crash yesterday. It could have ended in a number of ways so for him to be able to race the way he did today is a positive sign from a difficult circumstance. 

“We have been and will continue to be aggressive for these stages remaining in pursuit of that stage win.” 

Tour de France – Stage 17 Results:
1. Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team) 2:21:27
2. Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates) +0:28
3. Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) +0:47
42. Adam Yates (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +13:33

Tour de France – General Classification after Stage 17:
1. Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) 70:34:11
2. Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) +1:59
3. Chris Froome (Team Sky) +2:31
24. Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +36:13

Photo courtesy of Getty Images.