Youthful approach to Milan-San Remo for ORICA-SCOTT

Wed 15 Mar 2017

Two of ORICA-SCOTT’s youngest and most talented sprinters, Dane Magnus Cort and Australian Caleb Ewan, will line up at Milan – San Remo this weekend.

The young duo will be joined by former champion Simon Gerrans who delivered the team its first monument victory at the race in 2012 and can never be discounted for another shot at glory.

The Milan-San Remo is the first monument of 2017 and covers 291km, making it the longest one-day race on the professional calendar and a gruelling encounter for the entire peloton.

For two-time Vuelta a Espana stage winner Cort, the experience of the cobbled classics will assist him with the challenging distance.

“Magnus has some experience with races over 250km from the Tour of Flanders and Paris-Roubaix so we are confident he can take another step up in distance for Milan- San Remo this weekend,” sport director Matt White said.

At just 22 years of age, Cyclassics Hamburg winner Ewan will use the opportunity to gain valuable experience, having yet tackled a race of this distance. 

“Caleb hasn’t had the ideal preparation having to withdraw from Tirreno-Adriatico followed his crash but he has been training well at home,” White continued.

“For Caleb, this year is more about experience. We expect the distance to be a difficult task which is natural for a young rider who has yet to challenge himself in a race situation for this duration.

“But it is a race he is passionate about and we will hopefully see him feature even more in the future.”

Supporting Cort, Ewan and Gerrans is an experienced group that includes Mathew Hayman, Michael Albasini, Daryl Impey, Jens Keukeleire and Luka Mezgec.

The team will look to conserve energy before the race ‘builds to a crescendo’ into the final.

“It’s a long and nervous day,” White explained. “The action really heats up in the last 30km with the Cipressa before the Poggio often sees fireworks as riders roll the dice ahead of the sprint.”

ORICA-SCOTT at Milan - San Remo (Saturday, 18 March):

Michael Albasini (SWI, 36)
Magnus Cort (DEN, 24)
Caleb Ewan (AUS, 22)
Simon Gerrans (AUS, 36)
Mathew Hayman (AUS, 38)
Daryl Impey (RSA, 32)
Jens Keukeleire (BEL, 28)
Luka Mezgec (SLO, 28)