Abu Dhabi Tour - Race Overview

Two-time Vuelta a Espana stage winner Esteban Chaves has been crowned the inaugural Abu Dhabi Tour champion following a final twilight stage on Yas Marina Circuit this evening.

The Colombian entered the last day of racing with a 16second buffer to Fabio Aru (Astana Pro Team) and maintained that advantage thanks to the support of his ORICA-GreenEDGE teammates on what was another sprint finish.

After a fifth overall at the Vuelta a Espana, the victory marks the 25-year-old’s first professional overall victory at a multi-stage race.

“First a mountain stage win, then my first general classification in a professional stage race. I am very, very happy,” Chaves said after he crossed the finish line.

Read full final report here.

General Classification

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Esteban Chaves (COL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 13:13:55
2 Fabio Aru (ITA) - Astana Pro Team 0:00:16
3 Wouter Poels (NED) - Team Sky 0:00:27
4 Janez Brajkovic (SLO) - UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 0:00:41
5 Diego Ulissi (ITA) - Lampre-Merida 0:00:41
6 Gianluca Brambilla (ITA) - Etixx - Quick-Step 0:01:23
7 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (SPA) - Movistar Team 0:01:29
8 Leopold Konig (CZE) - Team Sky 0:01:29
9 Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) - Astana Pro Team 0:01:29
10 Patrick Konrad (AUT) - Bora-Argon 18 0:01:40
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Esteban Chaves (COL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 13:13:55
32 Christian Meier (CAN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:08:49
37 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:10:58
49 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:15:11
50 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:15:11
92 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:24:39