Abu Dhabi Tour
Stage 1: Madinat Zayed to Madinat Zayed - Stage Details

Double Vuelta a Espana stage winner Magnus Cort sprinted to fourth place against a world class field on the opening stage of the Abu Dhabi Tour today, again serving notice of the 23-year-olds rising talent.

ORICA-BikeExchange teammates Jens Keukeleire and Michael Matthews came close to deciding the stage win themselves as they controlled a four-man breakaway for some 120kilometres before being caught seven kilometres from the line by the headwind assisted peloton.

Once the race came back together the bunch sprint seemed inevitable with Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo) taking the stage win and Cort narrowly missing the podium in fourth place.

Sport director Laurenzo Lapage praised the efforts of the team and noted how the squad’s versatility came into play for the stage one finale.

“We performed very positively today and at this late stage of the season it’s great to see the guys so motivated,” said Lapage. “Michael (Matthews) and Jens (Keukeleire) rode well for 120kilometres in the break and came close to staying away to contest the win before Magnus stepped up for the sprint.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA) - Trek-Segafredo 3:15:59
2 John Degenkolb (GER) - Team Giant-Alpecin ST
3 Mark Cavendish (GBR) - Dimension Data ST
4 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
5 Christopher Latham (GBR) - Team WIGGINS ST
6 Michal Kolár (SVK) - Tinkoff Team ST
7 Roman Maikin (RUS) - Gazprom-Rusvelo ST
8 Marco Coledan (ITA) - Trek-Segafredo ST
9 Jean-Pierre Drucker (LUX) - BMC Racing Team ST
10 Ramon Sinkeldam (NED) - Team Giant-Alpecin ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
4 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
44 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:03
46 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:03
53 Carlos Verona (SPA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:03
79 Mitchell Docker (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:20