Amgen Tour of California
Stage 5: Pismo Beach - Santa Barbara - Stage Details

Matt Goss rounded out the podium on stage five of the Amgen Tour of California. It was another day for a break to shine as Taylor Phinney (BMC) soloed into the coastal town of Santa Barbara for the win. Goss was second in the field sprint to Peter Sagan (Cannondale) for third on the day. Adam Yates finished safely in the reduced bunch to preserve his fifth place position on the overall classification.

It was a relatively quiet day of racing as an early break of six riders escaped the peloton shortly after leaving the start town of Pismo Beach. Team Sky patrolled the front for race leader Bradley Wiggins allowing the leading group to gain no more than a two minute advantage.

Before hitting the final climb, roughly 40 kilometres before the finish, the gap had been reduced to less than a minute. Midway up San Marcos Pass, the break had been reabsorbed and Team Sky was setting the pace up the steady highway climb.

It wasn’t until the descent that the winning move was made. Phinney, crouched into a perfect tuck and with barely a pedal stroke, quickly opened up a 25 second lead. A world class time trial specialist, Phinney promptly became a serious threat to teams with stage win ambitions. Cannondale and ORICA-GreenEDGE swiftly assembled on the front to reel in Phinney.

“Without radios there was some confusion that there was a rider off the front. It wasn’t until about 12 kilometres to go that the guys knew there was a rider away. Even then they didn’t know it was Phinney. We were totally committed to helping Cannondale catch Phinney. We weren’t playing any games. We sent two guys to the front straight away and a third later joined the chase. I definitely didn’t see that one coming. We knew if Sagan was at the finish, he would be hard to beat, but we never expected to see someone get away with 25 kilometres to go.” - Sport Director Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Taylor Phinney (USA) - BMC Racing Team 3:59:33
2 Peter Sagan (Svk) - Cannondale 0:00:12
3 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
4 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) - Trek Factory Racing ST
5 Kiel Reijnen (USA) - UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team ST
6 Lawson Craddock (USA) - Team Giant-Shimano ST
7 Thomas Damuseau (Fra) - Team Giant-Shimano ST
8 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) - BMC Racing Team ST
9 Paul Voss (Ger) - Team NetApp-Endura ST
10 Tiago Machado (Por) - Team NetApp-Endura ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
3 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
24 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
31 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
33 Johan Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
40 Damien Howson (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
88 Mathew Hayman (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:30
114 Jens Mouris (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:11:43
117 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST