Amstel Gold Race - Race Overview

2015 Paris-Nice stage winner Michael Matthews has sprinted to his second Classics podium this season, finishing third at the Amstel Gold Race today.

Matthews successfully followed the threatening wheel of three-time winner Philippe Gilbert (BMC Racing) up the final ascent of the Cauberg but a chase group caught the pair ahead of the line.

The 24-year-old sprinted with everything he had left for third place, equal to his Milano-Sanremo result, and was visibly exhausted after the finish.

“For my first time attempting the final at Amstel, I have to be happy with the result,” Matthews said. “I’m happy with the way I rode, I left everything out there. It’s just unfortunate that it wasn’t for the victory.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Michal Kwiatkowski (POL) - Etixx - Quick-Step 6:31:49
2 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (SPA) - Movistar Team ST
3 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
4 Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (POR) - Lampre-Merida ST
5 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing Team ST
6 Tony Gallopin (FRA) - Lotto Soudal ST
7 Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) - Etixx - Quick-Step ST
8 Enrico Gasparotto (ITA) - Wanty - Groupe Gobert ST
9 Maciej Paterski (POL) - CCC Sprandi Polkowice ST
10 Philippe Gilbert (BEL) - BMC Racing Team ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
3 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
67 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:32
68 Pieter Weening (NED) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:32
69 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:32
70 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:32
76 Simon Clarke (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:21