Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race - Women - Race Overview

ORICA-AIS has taken the top two steps of the podium today in the second edition of the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race. Australian Champion Amanda Spratt won the race ahead of the defending champion and team mate Rachel Neylan after executing text book tactics.

“It was perfect from kilometer zero,” explained Spratt.  “We had Loren RowneyChloe McConville and Sarah Roy who did a lot of work to set myself, Rachel and Tayler Wiles up for the final.”

“It was just a battle once we got to the climbs. We were constantly attacking and the peloton just kept whittling down, so we just kept the pressure and just kept sticking at it. I thought Rachel's move would stay away with Chloe Hosking, but then it came back so I countered over the top and managed to get away.

“It was painful over all those climbs but when you’ve got a team like that you're always motivated for the finish.”

Read the full report here. 


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Amanda Spratt (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 2:58:45
2 Rachel Neylan (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 0:00:49
3 Danielle King (GBR) - Wiggle-High5 0:00:49
4 Chloe Hosking (AUS) - Wiggle-High5 0:01:03
5 Lauren Kitchen (AUS) - Hogs Breath Cafe Tineli 0:01:03
6 Tiffany Cromwell (AUS) - Boss Racing Team 0:01:03
7 Tayler Wiles (USA) - ORICA-AIS 0:01:03
8 Ruth Corset (AUS) - Rush Women's Team 0:01:03
9 Miranda Griffiths (AUS) - Holden Women's Cycling Team 0:01:03
10 Peta Mullens (AUS) - Wiggle-High5 0:01:07
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Amanda Spratt (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 2:58:45
2 Rachel Neylan (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 0:00:49
7 Tayler Wiles (USA) - ORICA-AIS 0:01:03
19 Loren Rowney (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:03:17