Critérium du Dauphiné
Stage 3: Ambert - Le Teil - Stage Details

A hot, slow day of racing at the Critérium du Dapuhiné came to a close with a hectic field sprint in La Tiel. Nikias Arndt (Giant-Shimano) narrowly edged out Kris Boeckmans (Lotto-Belisol) for glory on stage three whilst ORICA-GreenEDGE’s Jens Keukeleire slotted into sixth place. Adam Yates finished on bunch time to protect his ninth place overall following three days of racing at the eight day French tour.

The quiet start to the day belied the chaotic finale. The first break attempt proved fruitful as three riders slipped clear of the bunch. Natnael Berhane (Europcar), Blel Kadri (Ag2r-La Mondiale) and Cesare Benedetti (NetApp-Endura) built up a maximum advantage of four minutes. With temperatures hovering around 32 degrees Celsius and a block headwind, neither the escape group nor the peloton seemed inclined to force the pace.

Team Sky controlled the field in the first half of the stage. began to give chase in the latter half. Twenty three kilometres from the finish, the break was back in the bunch, and a mass finish looked inevitable. Jens Voigt (Trek Factory Racing) took advantage of the nonchalance, launching an attack that forced a sizeable front group off the front of the field. Voigt and company would gain nearly a minute before Omega Pharma-Quick-Step,, Giant-Shimano and Katusha combined forces to shut down the leaders.

The build-up to the sprint lacked a sense of control as various teams jostled for positioning at the head of affairs. Daryl Impey moved Jens Keukeleire to the front inside the final kilometre, setting him up to unleash his quick kick to the line. First to open the sprint, Keukeleire was overtaken in the closing metres.

"Jens told me he felt really good in the sprint, but he just wasn’t fast enough to do anything more. Daryl felt poorly all day but came ok again by the finish, so he was able to contribute to the lead-out in the end." - Sport Director Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Nikias Arndt (Ger) - Team Giant-Shimano 5:30:03
2 Kris Boeckmans (Bel) - Lotto-Belisol ST
3 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) - Team Giant-Shimano ST
4 Yannick Martinez (Fra) - Team Europcar ST
5 Davide Cimolai (Ita) - Lampre-Merida ST
6 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
7 Alexey Tsatevitch (Rus) - Team Katusha ST
8 Arnaud Demare (Fra) - ST
9 Gianni Meersman (Bel) - Omega Pharma Quick Step Cycling Team ST
10 Marco Marcato (Ita) - Cannondale ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
6 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
19 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
49 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
54 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
81 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
95 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
148 Damien Howson (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:04
160 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:16:14