Critérium du Dauphiné
Stage 5: Sisteron - La Mure - Stage Details

Neo-pro Adam Yates continues to shine at the Critérium du Dauphiné. The 21-year-old finished in third place in La Mure, picking up four bonus seconds plus a three second split on the yellow jersey group. He regains the spot he lost on yesterday on the general classification, moving back to ninth overall after five stages, 1’24 behind race leader Chris Froome.

Daryl Impey sprinted in for fourth place, leading home the yellow jersey group, after spending the day in a 17-strong escape group. Simon Spilak (Katusha) attacked the breakaway on the final climb of the stage and went on to solo to victory. Impey and the rest of what had been the leading group were caught by the reduced bunch inside the final ten kilometres.

By the time the reduced peloton joined forces with Impey’s group, Froome was on high alert. He had already been attacked by Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo) on the descent of the penultimate climb and had to use teammates to close the gap that had ballooned out beyond the minute mark. With Froome’s resources depleted and the main protagonists eyeing each other, Yates sensed an opportunity to make a move of his own.

The Briton accelerated, and Froome chased him down. Yates put in a second dig. This one had the desired impact. Wilco Kelderman (Belkin) bridged across to Yates. The duo worked together to put distance between themselves and Froome’s group.

Kelderman outsprinted Yates for second, scoring six bonus seconds. Coupled with the three seconds he gained on the yellow jersey group, Kelderman closed the gap to second overall and is now tied on time with Contador. Yates picked up seven seconds and one spot on the overall, and, perhaps more critically, is now within two seconds of seventh overall.

Adam’s move wasn’t planned. He saw a chance to try to gain a few seconds, and he took it. He jumped away from the bunch and Kelderman joined him. Adam said Kelderman was very strong, but they both committed. It benefitted them both to go for the bonus seconds and as much as a time gap as possible.” - Sport Director Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Simon Spilak (Slo) - Team Katusha 4:51:24
2 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team 0:00:14
3 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
4 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:17
5 Romain Bardet (Fra) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
6 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) - Team Katusha ST
7 Tanel Kangert (Est) - Astana Pro Team ST
8 Damiano Caruso (Ita) - Cannondale ST
9 Arthur Vichot (Fra) - ST
10 Leopold Konig (Cze) - Team Netapp-Endura ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
3 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
4 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:17
58 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:25
74 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:10:45
75 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
83 Damien Howson (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
99 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
112 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:20:23