Critérium du Dauphiné
Stage 8: Megève - Courchevel - Stage Details

Adam Yates put in brilliant ride on the final day of racing at the Critérium du Dauphiné to finish third on stage eight and jump up to sixth on the general classification. The result comes less than two months after his overall victory at the Tour of Turkey and one month after he climbed to fifth overall at the Amgen Tour of California.

Those that tuned into the live pictures were treated to a drama-filled day with fireworks all the way to the finish in Courchevel. Yates was part of a nearly thirty-strong front group that established on the first of four categorised climbs.  The group included Andrew Talanksy (Garmin-Sharp), Jurgen Van den Broeck (Lotto-Belisol) and Romain Bardet (Ag2r-La Mondiale) who had respectively started the day in third, fifth and seventh overall. Whilst neither Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo) nor Chris Froome (Team Sky) were amongst the frontrunner, Team Sky had placed David Lopez, Mikel Nieve and Richie Porte in the group.

Although Yates was isolated from his teammates for nearly the entire race, the composition of the large breakaway was to his advantage. The riders that began the day higher-placed than him on the overall had more to gain, and they all had teammates they could use to further their objectives.

The race further imploded when Froome went on the attack on the second of four ascents. Jumping out of the peloton on the Col de Saisies, Froome had three teammates for company. Contador immediately marked the move. Eventually the chase group would grow to include 17 riders in pursuit of the 28 leading the race. Contador was without teammates in either of the two groups.

From there it was edge-of-your-seat excitement as the Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Sharp) turned himself inside out on the front of the leading group to put Talansky in a position to win the race as Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) attacked out of the chase group. With Contador’s lead under threat, the Spaniard went on the attack. Froome as unable to respond. When Contador hit the 20 kilometre mark, he was 2’20 behind the leading group and 25” ahead the chasers. From there it was Talansky vs. Contador for the overall win. Yates sat in and plotted stage victory. 

Yates wasn’t the only one eyeing a stage result. Nieve had a similar plan in mind. Four kilometres from the finish, Nieve attacked. He immediately got a gap.  Tejay van Gardern (BMC) marked the move whilst Yates saved his legs for the final two kilometres.

Accelerating away from Talansky and van den Broeck, Yates had Bardet on his wheel. The Briton overtook van Garderen before the line, but ran out of road to catch Nieve, who soloed to the stage win. Bardot sprinted in for second place three seconds behind Nieve. Yates was two seconds further back in third on the stage. Talansky did enough to win the overall ahead of Contador. Yates jumped up to sixth overall, 2'05 behind the race winner.

It’s a huge result. Adam is a big talent with a big future. He wins Tour of Turkey, rides to fifth at Tour of California and now sixth at the Dauphiné. Each of the results is bigger than the last. This is a neo-pro coming to the Dauphiné and going head to head against the overall contenders for the Tour de France two weeks out from the biggest race of the year. It’s really fantastic.” - Sport Director Matt Wison


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Spa) - Team Sky 3:20:29
2 Romain Bardet (Fra) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:03
3 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:05
4 Andrew Talansky (USA) - Garmin-Sharp 0:00:09
5 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) - Lotto-Belisol ST
6 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) - BMC Racing Team 0:00:15
7 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team 0:00:32
8 John Gadret (Fra) - Movistar 0:00:36
9 Daniel Navarro Garcia (Spa) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits. 0:00:41
10 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) - Team Tinkoff-Saxo 0:01:15
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
3 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:05
58 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:27:11
64 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
65 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
68 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
83 Damien Howson (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST