Eneco Tour
Stage 1: Bolsward to Bolsward - Stage Details

Tour of Britain stage winner Caleb Ewan finished just outside the top ten in 12th place after a chaotic finale led to a closely contested sprint on stage one of the Eneco Tour in Holland today.

ORICA-BikeExchange rode a controlled race throughout, contributing significantly to the chase and catch of the five-man breakaway before positioning Ewan for the finale.

In the end, the sprint was a scrappy and chaotic affair that finally spluttered into life after the last corner into the finishing straight.

Around fifteen riders jumped early with Dylan Groenwegen (LottoNL-Jumbo) taking the win and Ewan suffering slightly from being boxed in.

Sport director Laurenzo Lapage was pleased with the overall performance of the team.

“After a hectic finale I’m pleased that all our guys came through without any problems,” said Lapage. “We rode very well today and we strongly held our position at the front over the final third approaching the finish.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Dylan Groenewegen (NED) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo 4:14:00
2 Nacer Bouhanni (FRA) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits ST
3 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Tinkoff Team ST
4 Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) - Dimension Data ST
5 Alexander Kristoff (NOR) - Team Katusha ST
6 Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA) - Trek-Segafredo ST
7 Arnaud Démare (FRA) - FDJ ST
8 Andrea Guardini (ITA) - Astana Pro Team ST
9 Marcel Kittel (GER) - Etixx - Quick-Step ST
10 Roy Jans (BEL) - Wanty - Groupe Gobert ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
12 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
70 Luka Mezgec (SLO) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
82 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
111 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
163 Michael Hepburn (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
167 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
171 Alex Edmondson (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:21