Le Samyn des Dames - Race Overview

Emma Johansson sprinted to victory in Le Samyn, scoring her first win of the 2014 season. A concerted team effort delivered the Swede across the line ahead of Ashleigh Moolman (Hitec Products) and Sofie de Vuyst (Futurumshop.no-Zannata). It is the first international victory of the year for ORICA-AIS and the first European win of the season for the GreenEDGE family.

Vera Koedooder (Bigla) animated the early action with a solo attack on the opening lap of the one day race.  The lone leader entered the finishing circuit for the first of four times around the 21 kilometre loop with a slim advantage over the field. By the time the peloton reached the first GPM atop the cobbled Côte de Montignies sur Roc, Koedooder was back in the bunch.

The action heated up on the finishing circuit. Trixi Worrack (Specialized-lululemon) attacked and spent a bit of time up the road before her teammate Elise Delzenne and Hitec Product’s Ashleigh Moolman joined in on the escape. The trio’s dangerous move was short-lived and the peloton, albeit a slightly reduced one, had regrouped with three laps remaining.

The attacks, counter-attacks, splits and chases continued throughout the final three laps. Solo moves, small groups and a larger group of eight riders all managed to slip the stronghold of the bunch only to be reeled back in prior to gaining any sort of true advantage. Always attentive at the head of affairs, Johansson swept up enough points to win the GPM classification en route to the race win.

Delzenne launched a bold move in the last lap. Initially, the French National Champion was able to steadily build up her advantage, but inside the final ten kilometres the gap rapidly began to shrink.

Gunnewijk had assumed responsibility of the chase ahead of the cobbled climb, and she resumed her position at the head of affairs after Johansson’s acceleration. Leading the bunch through the twists and turns, she pegged back Delzenne. Five kilometres from the finish, it was gruppo compatto. A field sprint appeared imminent.

Moolman was the first to open her sprint. Johansson hopped on the South African’s wheel and enjoyed a draft until she was ready to unleash her final acceleration.

 “It means a lot to the team to win races this way. There was a big difference between today and the way we raced last weekend, and it shows that when we race as a team, we can win. Just coming into today, everybody was more prepared and focused. I think that was really important for us.” - Emma Johansson

“It was great to see everyone work hard to contribute to Emma’s victory. We pride ourselves on strong teamwork and coming up with the best result that all six riders can muster, and we certainly did that today. I’m really proud of the whole team.” - Sport Director Gene Bates

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Emma Johansson (Swe) - ORICA-AIS 2:48:25
2 Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) - Hitec Products ST
3 Sofie De Vuyst (Bel) - Futurumshop.Nl - Zannata ST
4 Ellen Van Dijk (Ned) - Boels Dolmans Cycling Team ST
5 Maaike Polspoel (Bel) - Team Giant-Shimano ST
6 Maura Kinsella (USA) - US National Team ST
7 Amy Pieters (Ned) - Team Giant-Shimano ST
8 Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) - Hitec Products ST
9 Emilia Fahlin (Swe) - Wiggle Honda ST
10 Joanne Kiesanowski (NZl) - Tibco / To The Top ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Emma Johansson (Swe) - ORICA-AIS 2:48:25
44 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) - ORICA-AIS 0:00:25
45 Amanda Spratt (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
54 Carlee Tyalor (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:00:30
65 Jessie MacLean (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:06:34