Milan-San Remo - Race Overview

Giro d'Italia stage winner Caleb Ewan came devastatingly close to his first monument victory for Mitchelton-SCOTT at Milan-San Remo today, sprinting to second place as the race came alive over the Poggio climb.

A strong team performance from Mitchelton-SCOTT saw Ewan protected and cresting the key climbs of the Cipressa and the Poggio in a strong position at the front of the bunch before an attack on the Poggio by eventual winner Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) blew the race apart.

Matteo Trentin tried to chase Nibali down the descent to San Remo but was caught by the bunch that contained South African champion Daryl Impey and Ewan with Nibali holding out for the solo win just ahead of Ewan who convincingly won the sprint for second.

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) - Bahrain-Merida 07:18:43
2 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 07:18:43
3 Arnaud Demare (FRA) - Groupama-FDJ
4 Alexander Kristoff (NOR) - UAE Team Emirates
5 Jurgen Roelandts (BEL) - BMC Racing Team
6 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Bora-Hansgrohe
7 Michael Matthews (AUS) - Team Sunweb
8 Magnus Cort (DEN) - Astana Pro Team
9 Sonny Colbrelli (ITA) - Bahrain-Merida
10 Jasper Stuyven (BEL) - Trek-Segafredo
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 07:18:43
21 Daryl Impey (RSA) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:00:04
30 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:00:05
37 Matteo Trentin (ITA) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:00:17
104 Sam Bewley (NZL) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:05:20
106 Roger Kluge (GER) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:05:20
152 Svein Tuft (CAN) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:16:13