Omloop Het Nieuwsblad - Men - Race Overview

Magnus Cort was the highest place finisher toady for ORICA-SCOTT taking 16th place in a chaotic opening to the one-day Belgium classic, Omloop Het Nieuwsblad.

Half-way into the race, ORICA-SCOTT’s luck began to fade with mechanical problems and a couple of riders being caught up in crashes, which inevitably effect the teams momentum and aims of a top result.

“We had some bad luck today, Sam Bewley was in a crash and had to abandon, he had pain in his knee but thankfully there is nothing broken,” explained sport director Laurenzo Lapage. “Jens Keukeleire was also involved in a crash, he could finish the race but then was out of the front group.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing Team 4:55:06
2 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Bora-Hansgrohe
3 Sep Vanmarcke (BEL) - Cannondale-Drapac
4 Fabio Felline (ITA) - Trek-Segafredo 0:00:45
5 Oscar Gatto (ITA) - Astana Pro Team 0:00:52
6 Luke Rowe (GBR) - Team Sky
7 Oliver Naesen (BEL) - AG2R La Mondiale
8 Jasper Stuyven (BEL) - Trek-Segafredo
9 Matteo Trentin (ITA) - Quick-Step Floors 0:00:56
10 Adrien Petit (FRA) - Direct Energie 0:00:58
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
16 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:02:41
40 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:02:59
49 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:02:59
50 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:02:59
112 Svein Tuft (CAN) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:11:37