Vuelta a España
Stage 16: Gijôn – Valgrande-Pajares. Cuitu Negru - Stage Details


After a heavy fall yesterday, Daniel Teklehaimanot found himself in survival mode to make the stage 16 time cut. The rest of the team was focused on keeping Simon Clarke in the polka dot jersey. Initially, they attempted to put Clarke in the break, and when that proved impossible, Pieter Weening helped his secure points on the second of four climbs on the stage. Cameron Meyer was a non-starter today after the team pulled him from the race as part of his preparation for the team time trial at the World Championships later this month.

"Having only scored points on one of the four climbs today, it will be really difficult to win the mountains classification. The overall contenders are closing in on us in terms of points, and the riders in today’s break – Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil-DCM) and Dario Cataldo (Omega Pharma-QuickStep)-- are up in the rankings now, too. We’ll do what we can to hang onto the jersey, and if we go down, it won’t be without a fight." - Sports Director Neil Stephens


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Dario Cataldo (Ita) - Omega Pharma-Quickstep 5:18:28
2 Thomas De Gendt (Bel) - Vacansoleil-Dcm Pro Cycling Team 0:00:07
3 Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) - Katusha Team 0:02:39
4 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) - Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank 0:02:41
5 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) - Movistar Team 0:02:58
6 Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) - Movistar Team 0:03:24
7 Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) - Euskaltel - Euskadi 0:04:07
8 Andrew Talansky (USA) - Garmin - Sharp 0:04:15
9 Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) - Rabobank Cycling Team 0:04:18
10 Robert Gesink (Ned) - Rabobank Cycling Team 0:04:21
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
79 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:26:05
98 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:27:26
105 Julian Dean (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:30:36
108 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
150 Allan Davis (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:32:51
164 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:33:42
173 Travis Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:34:20
177 Daniel Teklehaymanot (Eri) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:34:56