Santos Tour Down Under
Stage 4: Unley - Victor Harbor - Stage Details

Simon Gerrans clawed back almost half of Cadel Evans’s (BMC) overall lead on stage four of the Santos Tour Down Under, in a crosswind affected stage into Victor Harbor. An impressive team performance from ORICA-GreenEDGE helped to set Gerrans up for the two intermediate sprints, where he picked up five bonus seconds. In the final, Gerrans sprinted to fourth on the stage behind winner Andre Greipel (Lotto-Belisol), Jurgen Roelandts (Lotto-Belisol) and Elia Viviani (Cannondale).

Despite narrowly missing out on another time bonus for a top three finish, Gerrans retained his second place overall, and is now just seven seconds down on Evans. He will also wear the blue jersey of the points classification leader into stage five. 

“We’re in a lot better situation than we were 24 hours ago. We knew we had to take some bonus seconds today, and we ended up taking five out of the possible six available out on the road. The boys rode extremely well. They did a very good lead-out into the first intermediate sprint, and Gerro was able to capitalise on that and take maximum points. There’s still time to take back seven seconds in this Tour. There’s 19 seconds available just on the last stage, and nine of those are through bonus sprints. But ideally we would like to be in the jersey after the stage tomorrow. We’re going to see the best guys battling it out for the stage win tomorrow, and we’re expecting a pretty interesting race. “ - Sport Director Matt White


Place Rider/Team Time
1 André Greipel (Ger) - Lotto Belisol 3:33:07
2 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) - Lotto Belisol ST
3 Elia Viviani (Ita) - Cannondale ST
4 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
5 Nathan Haas (Aus) - Garmin Sharp ST
6 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
7 Maxime Bouet (Fra) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
8 Nikolay Trusov (Rus) - Tinkoff-Saxo ST
9 Anthony Roux (Fra) - ST
10 Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) - Astana Pro Team ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
4 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
6 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
60 Mathew Hayman (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:41
61 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:52
62 Luke Durbridge (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:56
77 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:13:55
78 Matt Goss (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST