Santos Tour Down Under - Race Overview

ORICA-GreenEDGE has concluded the 2016 Santos Tour Down Under in spectacular style, taking out the final stage and overall title in Adelaide today.

21-year-old sprinter Caleb Ewan delivered for the third time this week by winning the final stage ahead of Mark Renshaw (Team Dimension Data) and Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo).

Meanwhile, 35-year-old former Australian champion Simon Gerrans safely defended his overall lead to become the first rider in history to win four Santos Tour Down Under titles.

“This one feels just as good as the first one did,” Gerrans said. “I had to keep my wits about me, I was fully concentrated there for the full 90km but it certainly feels good now that it’s over and done with and I’ve secured the win.”

Read the full report here.

General Classification

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 19:11:33
2 Richie Porte (AUS) - BMC Racing Team 0:00:09
3 Sergio Henao (COL) - Team Sky 0:00:11
4 Jay McCarthy (AUS) - Tinkoff 0:00:20
5 Michael Woods (CAN) - Cannondale 0:00:20
6 Ruben Fernandez Andujar (ESP) - Team Movistar 0:00:28
7 Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:28
8 Rafael Valls Ferri (ESP) - Lotto Soudal 0:00:36
9 Steve Morabito (SUI) - FDJ 0:00:49
10 Patrick Bevin (NZL) - Cannondale 0:00:50
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 19:11:33
44 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:04
76 Michael Albasini (SUI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:18:46
84 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:21:56
88 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:23:01
124 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:39:24