South African National championships - Race Overview

Time trial

South African Daryl Impey has impressed once again at the national championships to claim his sixth time trial title today in Wellington, Western Cape.

The victory today puts Impey into the history books as the first South African to win the time trial title six times, having beaten David George’s record of five titles since the race was first held in 1997.

“No-one has ever had six time trial titles here so it that is quite nice to have that achievement as well," explained Impey. "In 2012 I didn’t ride the nationals so it works out that in the elite nationals I have won each time I have raced.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:49:15
2 Willem Smit (RSA) - +1:56
3 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) - Dimension Data +2:42
4 Nick Dougall (RSA) - Dimension Data +2:53
5 Ryan Gibbons (RSA) - Dimension Data +3:33
6 Brendon Davids (RSA) - +4:54
7 Carl Pasio (RSA) - +6:09
8 Rohan du Plooy (RSA) - +6:49
9 Edward Greene (RSA) - +6:50
10 Calvin Beneke (RSA) -
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:49:15