Tour de France
Stage 13: Bourg-Saint-Andéol to La Caverne du Pont-d'Arc (ITT) - Stage Details

Briton Adam Yates produced a fantastic ride for ORICA-BikeExchange in the individual time trial on stage 13 of the Tour de France today, moving into third place on the general classification but retaining the lead of the best young rider category.

Tom Dumoulin (Giant-Alpecin) won the stage with a fast time of 50minutes 15seconds for the tough 37.5kilometres course with Christopher Froome (Team-Sky) in second place.

Yates finished three minutes down on the stage winner after brilliantly overcoming the challenging course in what is not the ORICA-BikeExchange rider’s favourite pursuit.

Extending his lead in the best young rider classification and moving into third place overall behind race leader Froome and Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo), Yates is 58seconds behind the Trek rider going into tomorrow's stage 14.

“The time trial is not my speciality and I think out of everyone here I’m probably one of the weakest,” said Yates at the finish. “I gave it my absolute maximum out there and I think I did an ok job to finish with the time I got, I did my best so that’s all I can do.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Tom Dumoulin (NED) - Team Giant-Alpecin 0:50:15
2 Christopher Froome (GBR) - Team Sky 0:01:03
3 Nelson Oliveira (POR) - Movistar Team 0:01:31
4 Jerome Coppel (FRA) - IAM Cycling 0:01:35
5 Rohan Dennis (AUS) - BMC Racing Team 0:01:41
6 Bauke Mollema (NED) - Trek-Segafredo 0:01:54
7 Geraint Thomas (GBR) - Team Sky 0:02:00
8 Jon Izaguirre (SPA) - Movistar Team 0:02:02
9 Tony Martin (GER) - Etixx - Quick-Step 0:02:05
10 Stephen Cummings (GBR) - Dimension Data 0:02:24
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
17 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:03:01
18 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:03:01
26 Ruben Plaza (SPA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:03:35
53 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:05:27
60 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:05:43
119 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:07:33
134 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:07:56
165 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:08:52